Energy Shell Charges and Calc. Tokens

By Jerome6741, in X-Wing Rules Questions

The ESC card clearly states that ONE calc. token can be used to turn ONE focus result to a crit...if in a swarm where there are multiple calc. tokens within range 1, can MORE THAN ONE focus result be changed to a crit?? I challenged this but my opponent insisted he can. I look forward to hearing back from anyone.

Nope, he was wrong, you were right

10 minutes ago, Jerome6741 said:

The ESC card clearly states that ONE calc. token can be used to turn ONE focus result to a crit...if in a swarm where there are multiple calc. tokens within range 1, can MORE THAN ONE focus result be changed to a crit?? I challenged this but my opponent insisted he can. I look forward to hearing back from anyone.

No, once per opportunity rule applies. Furthermore, the ship attacking with ESC has to spend its own calc token - it can't use networking for it.

You can use networking to convert focus results to hit as normal, but the effect of ESC for focus > crit is different.

It's worth noting, perhaps, that Networked Calculations only works once per attack/defence, it's an ability of the attacking ship. So, you can spend as many Calcs as YOU have, but only one from an ally, and only one on a crit, only one on a Tac Relay ability, etc.

Thank you for clarifying!