*new RR

By meffo, in X-Wing Rules Questions

ner?

9 minutes ago, Lyianx said:

ner?

^_^ the excitement got the better of me and my keyboard, lol.

honestly it wasn't all that i had hoped for, but at least it got an update.

Yay! Time for some reexamination.

not really anything to reexamine as there is very little new information or clarifications.

Rules Reference, Relocate: "A device that relocates does not count as moving through or overlapping obstacles ."

Rules Reference, Buzz Droids: " After an enemy ship overlaps or moves through a buzz droid swarm, the swarm’s controlling player relocates it by aligning the tab to that ship’s front or rear guides (this ship is at range 0 of the swarm). The swarm cannot be aligned to a set of the ship’s guides if doing so would cause it to overlap an object ."

panic

Edited by svelok
14 minutes ago, svelok said:

Rules Reference, Relocate: "A device that relocates does not count as moving through or overlapping obstacles ."

Rules Reference, Buzz Droids: " After an enemy ship overlaps or moves through a buzz droid swarm, the swarm’s controlling player relocates it by aligning the tab to that ship’s front or rear guides (this ship is at range 0 of the swarm). The swarm cannot be aligned to a set of the ship’s guides if doing so would cause it to overlap an object ."

panic

So, when you relocate your buzz droids, they can overlap an OBSTACLE, because relocating doesn't count as overlapping. But, they can't overlap another device or ship this way, because they would overlap an OBJECT.

23 minutes ago, judgeender said:

not really anything to reexamine as there is very little new information or clarifications.

I do appreciate that they added the new cloud obstacles and Remotes so I can read it without buying Separatists.

1 minute ago, nitrobenz said:

I do appreciate that they added the new cloud obstacles and Remotes so I can read it without buying Separatists.

I agree it is nice it was added. It should have been there the day Wave 3 was released. But almost all of that was "known." It's a bit frustrating that we have waited this long and the update doesn't really add very much new information or clarifications even though there are a number of issues/questions that have been around for a few months now.

9 minutes ago, emeraldbeacon said:

So  , when you relocate  your buzz droids, they can overlap an OBSTACLE, because relocating doesn't count  a  s overlapping. But, they can't overlap another   device or ship this way, because they would overlap an OBJECT. 

C̶h̶e̶c̶k̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶d̶e̶f̶i̶n̶i̶t̶i̶o̶n̶ ̶o̶f̶ ̶O̶b̶j̶e̶c̶t̶s̶ ̶a̶g̶a̶i̶n̶ ̶o̶n̶ ̶p̶a̶g̶e̶ ̶1̶3̶:̶ ̶ ̶"̶S̶h̶i̶p̶s̶,̶ ̶o̶b̶s̶t̶a̶c̶l̶e̶s̶,̶ ̶a̶n̶d̶ ̶d̶e̶v̶i̶c̶e̶s̶ ̶a̶r̶e̶ ̶a̶l̶l̶ ̶o̶b̶j̶e̶c̶t̶s̶.̶"̶ ̶ ̶C̶u̶r̶i̶o̶u̶s̶l̶y̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶y̶ ̶d̶i̶d̶ ̶n̶o̶t̶ ̶a̶d̶d̶ ̶R̶e̶m̶o̶t̶e̶s̶ ̶t̶o̶ ̶t̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶l̶i̶s̶t̶.̶

I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around this for some reason

Edited by nitrobenz
Nevermind, I should have read more carefully
10 minutes ago, emeraldbeacon said:

So, when you relocate your buzz droids, they can overlap an OBSTACLE, because relocating doesn't count as overlapping. But, they can't overlap another device or ship this way, because they would overlap an OBJECT.

Unfortunately no. Obstacles are objects (RR: "Objects") and since buzz droids say "cannot", that overrules other effects (RR: page 2, "Golden Rules").

The general rule for remotes says they don't count as moving through or overlapping obstacles. The specific rule for Buzz Droids says basically "except for these buzzy bois".

Erm, this is a combination of "Yay, I was right, a reroll is a roll" and "****, someone is going to think he can do it on his own ability's roll despite the " for the purpose of other effects " stipulation":

Q: Can Han Solo [Pilot, Modified YT-1300]’s ability be used on
a die that has been rerolled?
A: Yes. Han Solo’s ability is not treated as a reroll, so it can be used on a
rerolled die.

4 minutes ago, Hiemfire said:

Erm, this is a combination of "Yay, I was right, a reroll is a roll" and "****, someone is going to think he can do it on his own ability's roll despite the " for the purpose of other effects " stipulation":

Q: Can Han Solo [Pilot, Modified YT-1300]’s ability be used on
a die that has been rerolled?
A: Yes. Han Solo’s ability is not treated as a reroll, so it can be used on a
rerolled die.

I don't think they're saying anything remotely resembling "A reroll is a roll" at all, and you haven't been proven right.

Instead, I think this is referring to something like Han being shot at by someone with Zuckuss crew or Saturation Salvo. Those reroll Han's dice, and Han is able to use his ability on those dice, despite them having been rerolled previously. Key context to this is the Official Responces thread, which locates the timing for Han Solo's ability in the Attacker Modifies Attack Dice or Defender Modifies Defense Dice steps, after an opponent would have had a chance to use reroll effects on Han's dice.

I think it's a massive stretch to view this as allowing a reroll as a trigger for Han's ability.

1 hour ago, Hiemfire said:

Erm, this is a combination of "Yay, I was right, a reroll is a roll" and "****, someone is going to think he can do it on his own ability's roll despite the " for the purpose of other effects " stipulation":

Q: Can Han Solo [Pilot, Modified YT-1300]’s ability be used on
a die that has been rerolled?
A: Yes. Han Solo’s ability is not treated as a reroll, so it can be used on a
rerolled die.

han solos ability is now a proper modification that occurs during the dice modification step when applied to attack or defence dice, so you can actually trigger it after spending focus or what have you. it does not say that a reroll is a roll, no. you're right that rerolling is a kind of rolling, but it's still not the same thing in game terms.

43 minutes ago, meffo said:

han solos ability is now a proper modification that occurs during the dice modification step when applied to attack or defence dice, so you can actually trigger it after spending focus or what have you. it does not say that a reroll is a roll, no. you're right that rerolling is a kind of rolling, but it's still not the same thing in game terms.

Q: What kinds of Dice Modifications are there?

  1. Rerolling dice
  2. Adding results
  3. Changing results
  4. Spending results
  5. I dunno, Han Solo is kind of his own thing now I guess, too...

;)