if my vulture is not on a rock but flies over a rock and does not land on it - Can I still do grappling struts shenanigans - get actions and not roll for damage?
if my vulture is not on a rock but flies over a rock and does not land on it - Can I still do grappling struts shenanigans - get actions and not roll for damage?
Overlap =/= Move through, and the "(Closed)" side of the card is pretty explicit at only triggering on the former.
No, you cannot flip the Struts if you do not end your maneouvre overlapping an asteroid or a debris cloud. You do not have to execute a full maneouvre however, it is possible to bump-land.
Cheers.
Nope. Have to land on it (overlap) for the struts to trigger. What you describe is outlined in the rules as "moving through".
You must land on the asteroid to trigger flipping the struts to Opened. Here's a pic of the card in question for reference text:
This is pretty cut and dry since the card only says "if you overlap" and the Rules Reference (1.0.2) is clear on the distinction between Overlap (page 14) and Move Through (page 13).
Edited by nitrobenzNo. You only flip if you end your move at r0.
Thanks for the clarification - I have been playing it wrong.
I hope I got this right.
If you did barrel roll off a rock/debris the previous turn your struts would be (remain) open when you prepare to execute a maneuver this turn.
If this turn maneuver takes you through a rock/debris, I understood, you don't roll for damage and do not take stress. The open struts will close once you've finished the maneuver.
15 minutes ago, Slade said:I hope I got this right.
If you did barrel roll off a rock/debris the previous turn your struts would be (remain) open when you prepare to execute a maneuver this turn.
If this turn maneuver takes you through a rock/debris, I understood, you don't roll for damage and do not take stress. The open struts will close once you've finished the maneuver.
Yes.
To add to this thread, because it's relevant...do Vultures landing on asteroids skip their action phase, or does the "you ignore obstacles at range 0 and while moving through them" clause kick in when the Struts flip and before performing an action, meaning that the Vultures still get to perform an action?
10 minutes ago, feltipern1 said:To add to this thread, because it's relevant...do Vultures landing on asteroids skip their action phase, or does the "you ignore obstacles at range 0 and while moving through them" clause kick in when the Struts flip and before performing an action, meaning that the Vultures still get to perform an action?
The latter. You get your actions when you successfully land on an asteroid or debris.
On 4/11/2019 at 6:51 AM, thespaceinvader said:The latter. You get your actions when you successfully land on an asteroid or debris.
Agreed, it's all about the timing. Since struts trigger "While" its effects happen as soon as you overlap and the Asteroid/Debris effects are strictly "After" so the order is clear. (Page 13)
@feltipern1 The Gas Cloud however does not say "After" so it could be added to the queue on the same trigger... For consistency sake I would let it slide and say it can also be ignored, but strictly RAW the cloud is a game effect and struts are an optional player effect so, as per the Ability Queue rules on page 3, the cloud takes effect first.
9 hours ago, nitrobenz said:
@feltipern1 The Gas Cloud however does not say "After" so it could be added to the queue on the same trigger... For consistency sake I would let it slide and say it can also be ignored, but strictly RAW the cloud is a game effect and struts are an optional player effect so, as per the Ability Queue rules on page 3, the cloud takes effect first.
Thanks...although I'm pretty sure gas clouds can't be landed on in the first place, if I understand what you're saying correctly. I believe the Struts work in debris and on rocks only.
Can you grapple a rock via a barrel roll??
at me please, for ease of seeing.
53 minutes ago, Blail Blerg said:Can you grapple a rock via a barrel roll??
at me please, for ease of seeing.
no. the closed side of the struts card says you can flip the card while executing a maneuver. barrel rolling is not a maneuver, it's a movement. performing a barrel roll action comes after executing a maneuver.
it would be possible if there was a ship equipped with grappling struts and pattern analyzer (since pattern analyzer lets you perform an action before the check difficulty step of executing a maneuver), but that's not an option in the game currently.
You would also need something which allowed you to barrel roll onto the rock in the first place (a Barrel roll which overlaps or moves through an obstacle fails).
Collision detector would work, if you could equip one (I believe Hyena Droids will have the systems slot, but you still need a way to nest the roll in a maneuver).
32 minutes ago, Magnus Grendel said:You would also need something which allowed you to barrel roll onto the rock in the first place (a Barrel roll which overlaps or moves through an obstacle fails).
Collision detector would work, if you could equip one (I believe Hyena Droids will have the systems slot, but you still need a way to nest the roll in a maneuver).
that's true. the struts don't do this for you, since you cannot flip them until you overlap - and barrel rolling onto or through an obstacle is illegal.