Hag and poltergeist

By joseph0000, in Talisman Rules Questions

If I carry the poltergeist with me, what happens if I find the hag? Should I keep the poltergeist? I suppose that the hag cannot remove the poltergeist because this card says that you can remove "only crossing the river".

And, when a character falls in the vampire place in the inner circle, can the hag or the poltergeist being sacrificed?

When a character carrying the hag and the poltergeist dies, and another character falls in the space where this char died, should this character take the hag and the poltergeist? I suppose that the poltergeist go to the discard pile, but what about the hag?

joseph0000 said:

If I carry the poltergeist with me, what happens if I find the hag? Should I keep the poltergeist? I suppose that the hag cannot remove the poltergeist because this card says that you can remove "only crossing the river".

IIMHO, the Hag negative effect beats the poltergeist's, so you should drop the Poltergeist.

joseph0000 said:

And, when a character falls in the vampire place in the inner circle, can the hag or the poltergeist being sacrificed?

No, because that's a optional sacrifice.

joseph0000 said:

When a character carrying the hag and the poltergeist dies, and another character falls in the space where this char died, should this character take the hag and the poltergeist? I suppose that the poltergeist go to the discard pile, but what about the hag?

Why shouldn't they remain?

I mean. If you fall in a space were the hag and the poltergeist are, it is mandatory to take the hag and the poltergeist? Can the poltergeist be in a space, or if the character is dead it should return to the discard pile?

And the poltergeist says that you cannot discard it unless you cross the river, why the hag effect is more powerful? cynewulf, what information or reason do you use to conclude that? And why if it is an optional sacrifice you cannot choose as an option the hag or the poltergeist?

A similar question was asked in this post:

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?efid=129&efcid=1&efidt=295941&efpag=0#296166

The conclusion being:

"Poltergeist has the Follower keyword and should be treated exactly as a Follower. The only difference is you can't volutarily get rid of it (i.e. if you're instructed to choose a Follower to discard, you can't choose the Poltergeist unless it's your only Follower).

If you draw the Hag when you have the Poltergeist, Poltergeist is discarded along with the other Followers. Viceversa you can't have the Poltergeist as a Follower and must leave it face up on the space."

The Cursed By Hag card overules the Poltergeist (or Jester for that matter) since you can't have any followers at all after you draw it, beneficial or otherwise.

I believe when it comes to the "negative" followers (Hag, Poltergeist, Jester or anything else) then you can only choose to sacrifice or lose them if you have no other followers. I think there may be an official answer about this somewhere, but it eludes me at the moment.

Joseph, in the rule book is stated that effects that forbid something take precedence on effect that allow or impose.

So the Hag "wins" on the poltergeist.

Lemme quote from my unofficial faq, about to be published:

"You can't sacrifice the Jester / Hag / Poltergeist at the Vampire's Tower, or to complete a Warlock's Quest. "

This comes from a statement from a playtester (talismansilat). It's not official, but I like it.

Thank both of you guys! Now, what if the character with the hag or the poltergeist dies, and all its followers and stuff remains in the last square occupied. Now, another character falls in that space, should this character take the hag or the poltergeist? What if he/she doesn't want to take anything? Can choose "not to choose" take the poltergeist or the hag? If a character with the poltergeist dies, shouldn't this follower go to the discard pile?

The Hag and Poltergeist stay in the space if someone dies. Anyone landing in that space has to encounter the pair of them. I'm not sure which order it would be in though. Usually when you draw cards with the same number the order is based on the order they were drawn. Not to sure for cards of the same number already in a space. The order they're on the space in I guess.

Either way if you encounter the Hag first you then can't take the Poltergeist and it remains in the space. If you encounter the Poltergeist first then it gets discarded when the Hag is encountered, as per the Hag rules.

You have to encounter them and follow their text because they are both Events (number 1), unlike Followers or Objects which can be left in the space if you don't want them.

The Poltergeist (and Hag for that matter) are Followers when they are "owned" by someone. However when that person dies the remain in the space and revert back to Events where they are encountered as such again. Same goes for any Enemies that have been enslaved (Ministrel for example).

Thanks! This is a very active community for a very addictive game!

EvilEdwin said:

Either way if you encounter the Hag first you then can't take the Poltergeist and it remains in the space. If you encounter the Poltergeist first then it gets discarded when the Hag is encountered, as per the Hag rules.

Is this a change from 4th Edition to 4th Edition Revised? My upgrade kit is in the mail, but my original 4th ed "Cursed by a Hag" card reads:

"You are cursed by a Hag. Take her as a Follower. All other Followers (except the Poltergeist) immediately leave you discard them."

Note the explicit statement saying you keep the Poltergeist.

Yes it is.

The Revised verisions reads: "You must taker her as a Follower. All other Followers immediately leave you - discard them. You may have no other Followers until you rid yourself of the Hag by visiting the Village Mystic (even if he ignores you). You may then discard her."