Question that apparently came up during a Worlds game just now (with a ruling against).
When using Raddus, Profundity or Hyperspace Assault, can you use the ship base to check where you can deploy it before you decide to deploy it?
[ Disclaimer: as a Raddus/Profundity player, I'm biased towards saying you can. But I will try to reason it out. ]
From the rules reference:
QuotePremeasuring (p9):
- Players can measure with either side of the range ruler at any time.
- The maneuver tool can be placed and adjusted freely during the “Determine Course” step of executing a maneuver to assist in determining a course. A ship is not committed to a course until the guides of the maneuver tool are inserted into the ship’s base.
Setup (p10):
Deploy Ships: Starting with the first player, the players take turns deploying their forces into the setup area. A single deployment turn consists of placing one ship or two squadrons.
- Ships must be placed within their player’s deployment zones. When a player places a ship, he must set its speed dial to a speed available on its speed chart.
Q (FAQ v4.1.2, p7): During Setup, can ships and squadrons resolve card effects before they have been deployed?
A: Yes. During Setup, ships and squadrons that have not yet been deployed are in play, and their ship, squadron, and upgrade cards are active, unless that ship or squadron has been destroyed or set aside.
Tournament Rules v32: Legal Products
Custom “setup” templates designed to aid players in ship deployment are not allowed. Players can only use their range rulers to help them set up fleets during deployment.
Tournament Rules v3.2: Measuring
A player can only use one tool at a time when measuring range, distance, or movement. A tool is defined as the range ruler, the maneuver tool, or another component such as a token.
Wording from the upgrade cards:
- Raddus: "At the start of any round, you may deploy that ship at distance 1 of a friendly ship."
- Profundity: "At the start of any round, you may deploy the set-aside ship at distance 1."
- Hyperspace Assault: "At the start of any round after the first round, the second player can deploy the ship and squadrons that he set aside at distance 1 of 1 objective token."
Arguments for "No:"
- The rules do not say explicitly you can pre-measure with a ship.
- The rules only say you can pre-measure with the range ruler, or with the maneuver tool at any time.
- Ships that are set aside cannot interact with the game (e.g. cannot be assigned tokens), and so (by extension) cannot be in the Play Area unless they have been deployed.
- The TRs make it clear you can only use one tool at a time, and cannot use anything other than a range ruler to help you deploy a ship.
Arguments for "Yes:"
- When deploying a ship, it is implicit that you can pre-measure using the ship (otherwise you could have to place it exactly where it would go, with no adjustments),
- When deploying ships during setup until you declare which ship you are deploying and how fast it is going (by tradition?) you are free to put down one ship, and move, or remove it (implied chess piece rules?), and deploy a different ship instead,
- While the TRs say you cannot use custom templates, or use anything other than range rules to help during deployment it is implicit that you can use the ships themselves,
- A situation could arise where it would be impossible to deploy a ship (improbable, but possible). Without pre-measuring it may be impossible to determine easily whether the ship can be deployed (e.g. with Hyperspace Assault, if you couldn't deploy around one Objective Token after trying, would you be forced to deploy by a different one?).
Any thoughts? Has this been ruled on before - either officially or unofficially? Would the answer be different in a non-Tournament setting?