If a Vulture with Grappling Struts passes over an asteroid (or debris cloud), can it use them to avoid damage?
Been struggling with this.
[Closed] "While executing a maneuver; if you overlap an asteroid or debris cloud" -> does this mean I can flip it when I pass over an asteroid, or only if my final position would overlap?
[Open] "After you execute a maneuver, flip this card"
Seems to me one of these is true:
1) If passing over an asteroid or debris cloud counts, then I can open the struts as I move over the asteroid. Then in the "after executing a maneuver" step, I place "damage from asteroid" and "close struts" on the stack. If I can choose the order of that, I can have the damage resolve first (and get ignored, because struts are open) and then close the struts.
2) If my final position has to be on an asteroid to count as overlapping while executing, then it seems more clear. Although it does imply I could pass over _multiple_ asteroids as long as I land on one, since again when I get to damage step my struts are open.
However --- and I know this has been brought up before --- when I do land on an asteroid, why do the struts not flip closed again? I just executed a maneuver. I understand why they don't flip closed if I start my turn on an asteroid (because if I don't do a 2 straight I skip my Execute Maneuver step). Is it because this whole set of rules is after the "After you reveal your dial" clause, and the struts were closed when I revealed my dial, so none of it applies? (Except the ignore obstacles part, since that is separate from / before the after you reveal clause)