Kanan crew and Inertial Dampeners

By Tvboy, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Couldn't find an existing thread via google or the forum search bar, so I'm making a new one.

Kanan Jarrus: After a friendly ship at range 0-2 fully executes a white maneuver, you may spend 1 force charge to remove 1 stress token from that ship.

Inertial Dampeners: Before you would execute a maneuver, you may spend 1 shield. If you do, execute a white [0 ] instead of the maneuver you revealed, then gain 1 stress token.

Ability Queue

2. If a player has multiple abilities that triggered from the same event, that
player chooses the order that those abilities are added to the ability
queue.

So here's how I see this interaction playing out.

Player reveals maneuver dial, chooses to use Dampeners instead. Player fully executes a white maneuver, which triggers Kanan Jarrus ability which is added to the ability queue. Inertial Dampeners is still resolving though, so Kanan Jarrus waits in the queue while Dampeners finishes resolving and the ship receives a stress, which is a part of the same sentence as performing the white 0 maneuver. Then Kanan Jarrus ability comes off the ability queue and resolves, allowing the ship to remove a stress.

7 minutes ago, Tvboy said:

Player reveals maneuver dial, chooses to use Dampeners instead. Player fully executes a white maneuver, which triggers Kanan Jarrus ability which is added to the ability queue. Inertial Dampeners is still resolving though, so Kanan Jarrus waits in the queue while Dampeners finishes resolving and the ship receives a stress, which is a part of the same sentence as performing the white 0 maneuver. Then Kanan Jarrus ability comes off the ability queue and resolves, allowing the ship to remove a stress

Looks correct.

3 hours ago, Tvboy said:

Couldn't find an existing thread via google or the forum search bar, so I'm making a new one.

Kanan Jarrus: After a friendly ship at range 0-2 fully executes a white maneuver, you may spend 1 force charge to remove 1 stress token from that ship.

Inertial Dampeners: Before you would execute a maneuver, you may spend 1 shield. If you do, execute a white [0 ] instead of the maneuver you revealed, then gain 1 stress token.

Ability Queue

2. If a player has multiple abilities that triggered from the same event, that
player chooses the order that those abilities are added to the ability
queue.

So here's how I see this interaction playing out.

Player reveals maneuver dial, chooses to use Dampeners instead. Player fully executes a white maneuver, which triggers Kanan Jarrus ability which is added to the ability queue. Inertial Dampeners is still resolving though, so Kanan Jarrus waits in the queue while Dampeners finishes resolving and the ship receives a stress, which is a part of the same sentence as performing the white 0 maneuver. Then Kanan Jarrus ability comes off the ability queue and resolves, allowing the ship to remove a stress.

I know Kanan/Inertial Dampeners wasn't ruled to work this way in 1e (it was in the official FAQ, too), and I don't think the language is sufficiently different to change things.

Thinking specifically about the ability queue, I don't think #2 would be applicable here. These don't look to me like two abilities triggered from the same event. ID is triggered by "before you execute a maneuver" not after, and the stress gain isn't triggered by executing a White [0 stall] maneuver.

Moreover, " 3. If resolving an effect from the ability queue triggers additional effects, they are added to the front of the ability queue using the above rules. " That seems like a better description. While resolving Inertial Dampeners, it triggers additional effects (Kanan, from Executing a white Maneuver). That ability would then be added to the front of the queue, and abilities are resolved front to back. So Kanan's removal of stress would happen at the front (first), but the continuation of ID would happen at the back.

32 minutes ago, theBitterFig said:

I know Kanan/Inertial Dampeners wasn't ruled to work this way in 1e (it was in the official FAQ, too), and I don't think the language is sufficiently different to change things.

Thinking specifically about the ability queue, I don't think #2 would be applicable here. These don't look to me like two abilities triggered from the same event. ID is triggered by "before you execute a maneuver" not after, and the stress gain isn't triggered by executing a White [0 stall] maneuver.

Moreover, " 3. If resolving an effect from the ability queue triggers additional effects, they are added to the front of the ability queue using the above rules. " That seems like a better description. While resolving Inertial Dampeners, it triggers additional effects (Kanan, from Executing a white Maneuver). That ability would then be added to the front of the queue, and abilities are resolved front to back. So Kanan's removal of stress would happen at the front (first), but the continuation of ID would happen at the back.

But the ability from dampeners is still resolving. So you’re saying dampeners resolution would be paused by putting Kanan’s ability on top of the queue?

Maybe. I might have misread #3 a bit "If resolving" rather than "when resolving"... it's late.

But it does seem that new abilities are added to the front, and I don't think player choice would come in here, since the triggers aren't the same.

yeah, the search function in theses forums is not excellent. kanan triggers before you gain the stress, since he triggers off you executing a white maneuver. you then gain the stress from inertial dampeners.

Official Rulings update on this: