i have the royal decree and i roll for movement. my roll lets me move to the pertal of power space, which has a runegate on it. . the decree says to get rid of the card as you are about to encounter it.....so, do i get to draw a replacement card or not? there are other cards ( a spell i think ) that allow you to do this after you have landed on a space, and i dont suppose you could draw because youve already landed there. idk,, this could go either way, but it sounds to me like royal decree gives you time to draw another card
royal decree
darthmax said:
i have the royal decree and i roll for movement. my roll lets me move to the pertal of power space, which has a runegate on it. . the decree says to get rid of the card as you are about to encounter it.....so, do i get to draw a replacement card or not? there are other cards ( a spell i think ) that allow you to do this after you have landed on a space, and i dont suppose you could draw because youve already landed there. idk,, this could go either way, but it sounds to me like royal decree gives you time to draw another card
"About to encounter" is the key to the interpretation. When you're about to encounter a card the "draw card" phase is already gone (see flow chart at the back of the rulebook), so the Royal Decree allows you to banish a Stranger or Enemy and avoid the encounter, even if you've just drawn the card, but not before you get to encounter the card. No replacement draw is possible.
The_Warlock said:
darthmax said:
i have the royal decree and i roll for movement. my roll lets me move to the pertal of power space, which has a runegate on it. . the decree says to get rid of the card as you are about to encounter it.....so, do i get to draw a replacement card or not? there are other cards ( a spell i think ) that allow you to do this after you have landed on a space, and i dont suppose you could draw because youve already landed there. idk,, this could go either way, but it sounds to me like royal decree gives you time to draw another card
"About to encounter" is the key to the interpretation. When you're about to encounter a card the "draw card" phase is already gone (see flow chart at the back of the rulebook), so the Royal Decree allows you to banish a Stranger or Enemy and avoid the encounter, even if you've just drawn the card, but not before you get to encounter the card. No replacement draw is possible.
I disagree with you. "About to encounter" clearly means that you have not in fact encountered it yet. Since you have not in fact encountered anything yet, you then encounter the space, which is now card-free so you follow the standard empty space draw space rules.
Look at the flowchart this way, you are playing the royal decree at one of two points in the flowchart. Either immediately after the decision not to encounter a character already in the space, or immediately after the realization that there is no character in the space. Either way, it's along one of the "No" arrows immediately before the "Encounter the Space" entry.
I agree with the_ warlock
You can banish a enemy or stranger that you encounter.
You cannot draw more cards, because this happens after the draw phase.
The original question related to movement onto an existing upturned adventure card, not one you had drawn. My response only deals with that scenario, for the reasons I laid out. You don't have to wait until after the "Encounter the Space" entry on the flowchart.
If you royal decree something you had drawn, then clearly you do not draw yet another card.
MonkOfDoom said:
The original question related to movement onto an existing upturned adventure card, not one you had drawn. My response only deals with that scenario, for the reasons I laid out. You don't have to wait until after the "Encounter the Space" entry on the flowchart.
If you royal decree something you had drawn, then clearly you do not draw yet another card.
If you look at the Flowchart you'll see that there are two steps with "encounter" keyword. "Encounter the Space" and "card Encounter". Obviously you get to play the Royal Decree when you're about to encounter the card (so it is written). When does this happen? Before the "card Encounter" step.
When is the "card Encounter" step? After the "Draw card" step.
If Royal Decree was meant to be played on a card lying on a Space it won't have the "about to encounter" text. This is common to many cards, especially Spells, and gives a precise timing for use. Before you encounter the card, after you've drawn cards.
The_Warlock said:
MonkOfDoom said:
The original question related to movement onto an existing upturned adventure card, not one you had drawn. My response only deals with that scenario, for the reasons I laid out. You don't have to wait until after the "Encounter the Space" entry on the flowchart.
If you royal decree something you had drawn, then clearly you do not draw yet another card.
If you look at the Flowchart you'll see that there are two steps with "encounter" keyword. "Encounter the Space" and "card Encounter". Obviously you get to play the Royal Decree when you're about to encounter the card (so it is written). When does this happen? Before the "card Encounter" step.
When is the "card Encounter" step? After the "Draw card" step.
If Royal Decree was meant to be played on a card lying on a Space it won't have the "about to encounter" text. This is common to many cards, especially Spells, and gives a precise timing for use. Before you encounter the card, after you've drawn cards.
I understand your point, I think we just have a different view of how to enforce "about to encounter". I specifically said "You don't have to wait after the "Encounter the Space" entry on the flowchart." You clearly view it as "about to encounter" is only to be viewed as the tick in the flow chart that is *immediately before* the relevant encounter box, thereby forcing the player to play it after the box for "Encounter the Space" and before "Card Encounter". And that's a perfectly valid interpretation. I, however, prefer to interpret it as you can treat it as playable any tick before you are forced to take an action. So basically after movement that's either after deciding not to encounter another character or after realizing that there is no character to encounter. My view is certainly more liberal, but I prefer it because I find it kind of boring to just go destroy a card and then the turn ends.