This came up in a tournament the other day with a deck I own and I wasn't sure if it has been covered in the rules. If you have 2 Evasion Sigils in play do they stack and the attacking creatures owner discard two cards or do they discard one card at a time stopping if the first card was of the active house, or does the passive ability not stack and only 1 card is discarded?
Evasion Sigil: Do Multiple Copies Stack
Yes. As far as we know, all card effects are independent of each other, so the effects will stack where it makes sense for them to stack. Notable exceptions are things like speed sigil: the first creature has two "instances" of entering play ready, but only enters play once so it doesn't do anything extra. Another example would be interdimensional graft. If you play 2 of them, your opponent gives you all the aember they have left... twice. But after the first time they don't have any left to give you.
With evasion sigil you have two instances of a before fight effect that has a chance to stop the fight. So you'll have to get through both of them to fight successfully.
One lingering question in this case though: if you fail the first sigil and "exhaust that creature with no effect" does that prevent you from discarding a card for the second sigil? It feels like "with no effect" would end the fight immediately, so you wouldn't draw a card with the second sigil.
3 hours ago, saluk64007 said:One lingering question in this case though: if you fail the first sigil and "exhaust that creature with no effect" does that prevent you from discarding a card for the second sigil? It feels like "with no effect" would end the fight immediately, so you wouldn't draw a card with the second sigil.
That's the way I read it. There is no fight, therefore the triggering condition is no longer met for the second one.
I would interpret it that you still discard as you "do as much as you can". Both Evasion Sigils create a trigger when the creature goes to fight and you resolve them both to the fullest extent. The "with no effect" means that you just don't get to the attacking part because can't trumps can if you miss on either.
My question I have with the card is how does it interact with "Before Fight" abilities?
If I have a Firespitter and Evasion Sigil, do I:
1. Choose Firespitter
2. Resolve Evasion Sigil
- On success: Exhaust him, choose attack target, then resolve his 'Before Fight'
- On failure: Exhaust him and don't get his 'Before Fight'
-or-
1. Choose Firespitter and his 'Before Fight' triggers at the same time as Evasion Sigil and I can choose the order in which to resolve.
I have always played it the first way since the Evasion Sigil is not worded as "Before Fight: ..." and happens before a creature even is exhausted and declared, hence the exhausting with no effect as part of the resolution of the ability.
19 minutes ago, KandyKidZero said:I have always played it the first way since the Evasion Sigil is not worded as "Before Fight: ..." and happens before a creature even is exhausted and declared, hence the exhausting with no effect as part of the resolution of the ability.
I submitted this very question months ago.
Rules Question:
How exactly does Evasion Sigil work? If a card with a Before Fight ability tries to fight do we check first with Evasion Sigil if anything happens or does the active player decide which order Evasion Sigil and Before Fight abilities trigger?
Answer:
Both of these effects have the same timing point (before a fight), so the active player chooses the order of resolution.
This is another example of sloppy writing as the wording is different on both cards but they resolve the same way. A little consistency would be nice, but here we are.
On a side note, I asked this question on November 22nd and received an answer on January 22nd. I don't know if two months is the regular turn around on making official rules inquiries, but if your questions are yet unanswered, well, one may still be coming...
4 hours ago, dperello said:I submitted this very question months ago.
Rules Question:
How exactly does Evasion Sigil work? If a card with a Before Fight ability tries to fight do we check first with Evasion Sigil if anything happens or does the active player decide which order Evasion Sigil and Before Fight abilities trigger?
Answer:
Both of these effects have the same timing point (before a fight), so the active player chooses the order of resolution.
This is another example of sloppy writing as the wording is different on both cards but they resolve the same way. A little consistency would be nice, but here we are.
On a side note, I asked this question on November 22nd and received an answer on January 22nd. I don't know if two months is the regular turn around on making official rules inquiries, but if your questions are yet unanswered, well, one may still be coming...
![]()
This is very helpful and could have turned around a few games against my opponent's deck that has three urchins and evasion sigil. I could have blown them all to Dis, but *shrug* will now know for the future.