Play/Fight/Reap Question

By tonybianco, in KeyForge

I'm playing with my kids and I have a question on one of the Horseman cards. I understand most of the rules however this one is causing me some problems.

On the horseman card it says...

Play/Fight/Reap: Destroy the least powerful creature.

Does that mean every single time on my turn when I fight or reap with this card that it destroys the least powerful creature?

OR... does it mean that I can use only one of those actions once?

I've been using the card as the first time I play the card it takes that effect. Then whenever I fight or reap on my turns it triggers that effect.

Here's another question to this card... if my opponent does not have a creature... does that mean it destroys one of my creatures?

Yes, you are playing it correctly. It triggers on every opportunity, even if you don't want it to (such as you are the only one with creatures on board).

I happen to have a horseman deck with Speed Sigil. It is very fun to play Famine, then fight, and result in removing 3 creatures from my opponents side.

22 hours ago, tonybianco said:

I'm playing with my kids and I have a question on one of the Horseman cards. I understand most of the rules however this one is causing me some problems.

On the horseman card it says...

Play/Fight/Reap: Destroy the least powerful creature.

Does that mean every single time on my turn when I fight or reap with this card that it destroys the least powerful creature?

OR... does it mean that I can use only one of those actions once?

I've been using the card as the first time I play the card it takes that effect. Then whenever I fight or reap on my turns it triggers that effect.

Here's another question to this card... if my opponent does not have a creature... does that mean it destroys one of my creatures?

You are playing it correctly. It's shorthand for the following:

Play: Destroy the least powerful creature.

Fight: Destroy the least powerful creature.

Reap: Destroy the least powerful creature.

So it triggers when any of these happen.

Obviously, unless you have a way to ready the Horseman, you'll only get to do this once per turn.

Also, to be clear, it destroys the least powerful creature on the table. It doesn't clear out your enemies first and then work on your guys. If you have the Horseman and a Power 1 critter and your opponent has a Power 2 critter... the Horseman will destroy your own Power 1 critter first.

10 hours ago, KrisWall said:

Also, to be clear, it destroys the least powerful creature on the table. It doesn't clear out your enemies first and then work on your guys. If you have the Horseman and a Power 1 critter and your opponent has a Power 2 critter... the Horseman will destroy your own Power 1 critter first.

True. I had someone concede online when his horseman reaped and killed his Restringuntus.

This is really helpful to understand these rules. I was playing everything right except killing the lowest creature on my side. That puts a whole new take on things. At first, it felt way too powerful. My son's deck is a mega creature deck it feels like.

I assume play you can use only once.

Whereas Fight and Reap you can play multiple times, especially if you have a ready card. Which that could be crazy powerful.

Appreciate everyone's feedback. Thank you very much.