Arvel - Daredevil - Leia

By Argirios, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Arvel Crynyd (A-wing):
If you would fail a Boost action by overlapping another ship, resolve it as though you were partially executing a maneuver instead.
Daredevil:
While you perform a white Boost action, you may treat it as red to use the [1 Left] or [1 Right] template instead.
Leia:
At the start of the Activation Phase, you may spend 3 Charge. During this phase, each friendly ship reduces the difficulty of its red maneuvers.

Now I'm assuming no, but RAW, if Leia is active, Arvel uses Daredevil Boost, bumps, is it then a white Maneuver?

No. It's still a red action, even if in this one very edge case, it has a white manoeuvre in it, so you still get a stress after it completes.

boost and barrel rolls are not maneuvers, they are actions.

1 minute ago, meffo said:

boost and barrel rolls are not maneuvers, they are actions.

In the case of Arvel specifically, there's a decent argument that it's treated like a manoeuvre, because he... you know, says that.

Is stress from red actions applied before the action takes place, during, or after (even if it fails)? So for example if we added Kanan Jarrus Crew to this.

After, even if it fails.

4 minutes ago, Argirios said:

Is stress from red actions applied before the action takes place, during, or after (even if it fails)? So for example if we added Kanan Jarrus Crew to this.

kanan only triggers off ships fully executing maneuvers, so he cannot be used for arvels boosts.

Just now, meffo said:

kanan only triggers off ships fully executing maneuvers, so he cannot be used for arvels boosts.

That is true. I'm not sure if there was another similar case.

6 minutes ago, Argirios said:

That is true. I'm not sure if there was another similar case.

well, arvel resolves boosts as though he was partially executing them as maneuvers if he would overlap another ship. he's still not executing a maneuver, he's boosting. it's just another way to resolve the boost action. the RR clearly states that boosting, barrel rolling and decloaking is not executing maneuvers, just moving.

cards override the RR, but "resolve it as though you were partially executing a maneuver instead." is not the same thing as partially executing a maneuver.

Also no because it's never treated as a red manuever . Daredevil treats the action as a red action , and even if Arvel had treated the boost as a maneuver (he doesn't), it's still not a red maneuver, but a red action executed as a maneuver.