Carson Sinclair "free action" and evade

By icabod, in Mansions of Madness

Hi.

I've done a quick search but didn't find anything...

Carson Sinclair's ability reads "Action: Another investigator within range may perform 1 action. Activate this ability only once per round."

He's in a space with another investigator (who may be better at combat) and an enemy-type.

The Evade Check in the rules states you need to perform an evade check for "any action other than the attack action or move action."

So... does activating Carson's ability need an evade check (as it's an action that isn't attack or move)? I would assume that if the action of the other investigator isn't attack or move then an evade check is needed for the other investigator, but...?

I'm playing it as not needing an evade check, as I just want someone else to perform the attack on the butlers behalf.

Follow-on question...

The other investigator became Mesmerized - "at the end of your turn, flip this card."

As the investigator in question had already had his turn (this was effectively an extra action on behalf of Carson), so I don't flip the card until after the next turn? I.e., after the next Mythos phase?

Carson Question: You've already answered your question in Carson's special ability text: Carson's special ability is an Action. Apply all the Evade rules to it that you would to any 'other' Action that causes an Evade check. So, Carson's ability would require an Evade check against the Monster in his space with the highest Awareness. Carson is great at using this ability from a few spaces (within the rules of Range) away where/when possible).

Mesmerized Question: Correct. The next time that Investigator has a turn is after the following Mythos phase when the following Investigator phase comes about. The beauty is, depending on all the other Investigators agreeing on their turn order, you have a limited form of control over when that turn will end and cause the flip of the card.

:)

Ok, I played it as effectively "transferring" one of his actions to another investigator, but you're right, it is his action, and it gives another investigator an additional action. I should always assume the worst case, in this game!

I'll know for the next time.