Outmaneovre with turret primary weapons?

By Sovoth, in X-Wing Rules Questions

I was using Outmaneovre on a Resistance A-Wing recently and it was brought to my attention that the A-Wing can't use Outmaneovre due to the fact it has no forward shaded firing arc, it only has a turret arc which is different. Is this correct?

Edited by Sovoth

Yes

But it's also a stupid ruling.

1 hour ago, Sovoth said:

I was using Outmaneovre on a Resistance A-Wing recently and it was brought to my attention that the A-Wing can't use Outmaneovre due to the fact it has no forward shaded firing arc, it only has a turret arc which is different. Is this correct?

This is the first FAQ on page 23 of the Rules Reference ( https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/2a/57/2a57fdb2-e13f-4d58-b9db-bb082dd23dcc/swzrulesreference_v102.pdf 😞

Quote

Q: Can ships that only use [turret arc] or [180 forward] attacks use effects that require the ship to perform a [front arc] attack? (i.e. Fearless, Outmaneuver)

A: No.

Bizarrely, after including that specific ruling in the RRG, FFG later released quick builds that use Outmaneuver on ships/builds that can never make use of it, so... yeah

So, does this also mean that Rey (or any other Scavenged YT-1300 cannot use Finn due to the shaded front arc requirement? Looking at that Q & A above it would appear so?

Having said that, Rey's pilot ability refers to her forward shaded arc which by definition she does not have?

I'm confused now.

Edited by Sovoth
5 minutes ago, Sovoth said:

So, does this also mean that Rey (or any other Scavenged YT-1300 cannot use Finn due to the shaded front arc requirement? Looking at that Q & A above it would appear so?

Having said that, Rey's pilot ability refers to her forward shaded arc which by definition she does not have?

I'm confused now.

Here's the rest of the FAQ answer that I left off for brevity:

Quote

A: No. Note the differences between the requirement of Fearless: “While you perform a [front] primary attack…” and Punishing One: “While you perform a primary attack, if the defender is in your [front]…” A [front] attack uses the [front] icon above the attack value as shown on its ship card. This is different from an attack that is performed against a ship in it’s [front].

Rey and Finn are looking for the enemy ship's location:

default card default card

They just need the target to be present in the forward arc; they don't care about what kind of weapon is being used.

And yes, it's really, really annoying that they used the same symbol for 'V arc weapon', and 'something positioned in your V arc'.

Thanks.

It's confusing but I think I understand!

11 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

And yes, it's really, really annoying that they used the same symbol for 'V arc weapon', and 'something positioned in your V arc'.

It took me a long time to understand this. The V symbol always just means 'front arc'

Go listen to the Lack of focus podcast. I believe it was in episode 16 part 2 it was discussed. A really good explanation

Edited by StephenEsven

The Icon arc standard front symbol is a pictogram for the term "Front Arc" and is used only as a place holder for that combination of words.

So " Icon arc standard front attack" means "front arc attack", "in your Icon arc standard front " means "in your front arc".

The same applies to Icon arc single turret which is turret arc (a Icon arc double turret "dual turret"= 2 Icon arc single turret so any thing that applies to a Icon arc single turret applies to either of the 2 arcs in the Icon arc double turret ), Icon arc bullseye which is bullseye arc, Icon arc full front and Icon arc full back which are Full Front Arc and Full Rear Arc respectively, and Icon arc standard back means rear arc.

8 hours ago, StephenEsven said:

It took me a long time to understand this. The V symbol always just means 'front arc'

Go listen to the Lack of focus podcast. I believe it was in episode 16 part 2 it was discussed. A really good explanation

I'm aware that it always has the same meaning. I'm suggesting that as it's used in very similar contexts, which have different meanings, it would be helpful for there to be different symbols for those contexts, same for all arcs.

I.e., a different set of symbols for 'positioned in a given location' versus 'weapon which is limited to firing in a given arc'.

I'd prefer for there to be a symbol for 'front arc weapon' rather than a symbol for 'front arc' which is used on weapons, etc.