No more Han/Roark double tap

By Innese, in X-Wing

[Note: this is an amendment to the prior ruling from October 3rd, 2018]

Q: If a ship with Han Solo [Rebel, Gunner] is made to engage at initiative 7 (through Roark Garnet, Heightened Reflexes [Force Power], etc.), must it perform Han Solo's bonus attack first?

A: Yes. Han Solo [Rebel, Gunner]'s effect occurs at initiative 7 before any ship at that initiative engages (including the one to which Han Solo is equipped), so Han Solo's bonus attack is always performed first. This means that it cannot perform Han Solo's bonus attack and then perform a subsequent attack from the same turret arc.

Even if it hasn't been strictly prohibited, the build no longer fits the points...

Source? ( I love, but I need source to feed it to every Dash player in sight)

Just now, Innese said:

[Note: this is an amendment to the prior ruling from October 3rd, 2018]

Q: If a ship with Han Solo [Rebel, Gunner] is made to engage at initiative 7 (through Roark Garnet, Heightened Reflexes [Force Power], etc.), must it perform Han Solo's bonus attack first?

A: Yes. Han Solo [Rebel, Gunner]'s effect occurs at initiative 7 before any ship at that initiative engages (including the one to which Han Solo is equipped), so Han Solo's bonus attack is always performed first. This means that it cannot perform Han Solo's bonus attack and then perform a subsequent attack from the same turret arc.

This coupled with Dash not going down in price much means Dash is not going to be seen on the table alot, until at least July :(

Just now, Redblock said:

Source? ( I love, but I need source to feed it to every Dash player in sight)

Official Ruling Thread on the Rules page.

1 minute ago, Redblock said:

Source? ( I love, but I need source to feed it to every Dash player in sight)

Rules Thread.

3 minutes ago, Innese said:

Q: If a ship with Han Solo [Rebel, Gunner] is made to engage at initiative 7 (through Roark Garnet, Heightened Reflexes [Force Power], etc.), must it perform Han Solo's bonus attack first?

A: Yes. Han Solo [Rebel, Gunner]'s effect occurs at initiative 7 before any ship at that initiative engages (including the one to which Han Solo is equipped), so Han Solo's bonus attack is always performed first. This means that it cannot perform Han Solo's bonus attack and then perform a subsequent attack from the same turret arc.

I mean, that's literally not what the rules say.

But I suppose this isn't the first time FFG have used an FAQ to add rules out of thin air to make up for an unintended interaction...

At least now its all according to Star Wars lore - Han shot first. Period