Mothership Support - problems text and resolution

By LeCicc1989, in KeyForge

I have 4 Mars ready friendly creature all with strenght 2 and my opponent get 2 Dust Imp with strenght all 2.

I play Mothership Support, are damges of this card resolves all at the same time so i could choose 3 time a Dust Imp and 1 time the other Imp for the action card text? Or must i kill 2 of my friendly Mars creature?

341_171_C9HXR9JCPGP9_en.png

341_83_9V7X379WFV8V_en.png

Edited by LeCicc1989
Some errors in the text

same thing with cooperative hunting ( http://aembertree.com/card/core/319 )

Quote

Deal 1[D] for each friendly creature in play. You may divide this damage among any number of creatures.

i think it was ruled to be dealt simultaneously, so you could choose to spend all the damage on the imp.

You would have to damage your mars creatures.

But as it asks for ready creatures, just use some of them first. Then only do the damage you need.

11 minutes ago, Brekekekiwi said:

You would have to damage your mars creatures.

But as it asks for ready creatures, just use some of them first. Then only do the damage you need.

Are you sure about that? Has there been a ruling in this case that differs from Cooperative hunt?

On 1/26/2019 at 6:29 AM, LeCicc1989 said:

I have 4 Mars ready friendly creature all with strenght 2 and my opponent get 2 Dust Imp with strenght all 2.

I play Mothership Support, are damges of this card resolves all at the same time so i could choose 3 time a Dust Imp and 1 time the other Imp for the action card text? Or must i kill 2 of my friendly Mars creature?

341_171_C9HXR9JCPGP9_en.png

341_83_9V7X379WFV8V_en.png

21 minutes ago, Brekekekiwi said:

You would have to damage your mars creatures.

But as it asks for ready creatures, just use some of them first. Then only do the damage you need.

8 minutes ago, Poposhka said:

Are you sure about that? Has there been a ruling in this case that differs from Cooperative hunt?

Page 10 of current rulebook, under the DAMAGE heading.

" If multiple creatures are damaged by a single effect, that damage is dealt simultaneously."

Like Cooperative Hunting, this is all a single effect. The damage is simultaneous. I don't see anything that would prevent you from putting it all on one creature and keeping it off of your own.

How is this even a question? The parenthesis text say ‘You may choose a different creature each time.’

Meaning you can spread or focus the damage as you see fit.

1 minute ago, Hyperjayman said:

How is this even a question? The parenthesis text say ‘You may choose a different creature each time.’

Meaning you can spread or focus the damage as you see fit.

hey man, keep the attitude cool and smooth.

1 hour ago, Hyperjayman said:

How is this even a question? The parenthesis text say ‘You may choose a different creature each time.’

Meaning you can spread or focus the damage as you see fit.

If the effect of the damage wasn't applied simultaneously but was instead dealt each time you choose a target, then OP could end up damaging his own creatures after destroying all of his opponents, which they understandably do not want to do. Considering the simultaneous effect rule was only added to the most recent rulebook revision, it's fairly understandable that they might not be fully aware of that.

Very well thx a lot to all of you...

i know the rules before and now better, but someone want read the rules and the cards with the own view and so i wrote here.

someone of you reported the rules of the keyword DAMAGE and i want to see italian rulebook. It was upgrade in 17th january, days after the question is born so i can say that people on the group of facebook can not read the italian language (it is always in my mind this thought xD). After all i posted on FB group your reporting of rulebook and the tradution in italian but always someone answer me “but say each time and it isnt like cooperative hunting”...

i think the DAMAGE keyword in the rulebook can not be confused and is transparent/easy to understand, but never say “never”.

thx a lot

So, I could apply all eight damage to a creature with only four power?

My thinking must be a holdover of area effect damage in Conquest.

13 minutes ago, Brekekekiwi said:

So, I could apply all eight damage to a creature with only four power?

My thinking must be a holdover of area effect damage in Conquest.

I also struggled with this at first, because of Conquest, but more recently Star Wars Destiny where you specifically can NOT assign more damage than a character has hit points. It's difficult to keep games and rules apart sometimes, which we've seen plenty of examples of on this forum.

8 hours ago, Brekekekiwi said:

So, I could apply all eight damage to a creature with only four power?

My thinking must be a holdover of area effect damage in Conquest.

8 hours ago, Palpster said:

I also struggled with this at first, because of Conquest, but more recently Star Wars Destiny where you specifically can NOT assign more damage than a character has hit points. It's difficult to keep games and rules apart sometimes, which we've seen plenty of examples of on this forum.

Yeah, I have to agree with having rules from other games get stuck in my head and just assuming they apply here.

I don't see anything in the rulebook that prevents you from assigning 1000 damage to a creature with 1 power, as long as it's all from the same effect.

All damage is done simultaneously.

The active player makes all decisions.

These two rules work in conjunction here and mean you get to put the damage where you want even if it would be overkill. The only time you would have to do damage to your own creatures would be in the case where the opponent has none.