Multiple Zyzzix The Many cards

By Darth Teatime, in KeyForge

Hi,

ive been hunting for an answer to this, but have come up short so far.

I have a deck with 2 x Zyzzix cards. The text for his reap/fight ability ends with “...and Zyzzix The Many gains 3 +1 power counters.”

What happens if I have both my Zyzzix cards in play at the same time?

1) Do they both gain the 3 power, as they are both called Zyzzix The Many and therefore fulfil the condition on the card, or;

2) Does just the Zyzzix card that I used to trigger the ability gain the 3 power?

We have been playing that both Zyzzix cards get the power buff, as the ability text doesn’t say ‘this Zyzzix card’ or anything similar and both fulfil the name criteria on the ability.

Thanks in advance.

37 minutes ago, Darth Teatime said:

Hi,

ive been hunting for an answer to this, but have come up short so far.

I have a deck with 2 x Zyzzix cards. The text for his reap/fight ability ends with “...and Zyzzix The Many gains 3 +1 power counters.”

What happens if I have both my Zyzzix cards in play at the same time?

1) Do they both gain the 3 power, as they are both called Zyzzix The Many and therefore fulfil the condition on the card, or;

2) Does just the Zyzzix card that I used to trigger the ability gain the 3 power?

We have been playing that both Zyzzix cards get the power buff, as the ability text doesn’t say ‘this Zyzzix card’ or anything similar and both fulfil the name criteria on the ability.

Thanks in advance.

When a card uses its own name in an ability, it means "this card", not any other cards you may have with the same name. In this case, I wish they hadn't adopted this convention (which started with Magic), but had just gone with "this card" or "this creature" instead.

In the rulebook, under self-referential text:

Quote

SELF-REFERENTIAL TEXT
If a card’s ability refers to its own title, that reference is only to itself and not to other copies of the card.

So only one card would get the bonus.

That’s great, thanks both for the quick replies.