Does Thannisson crew's ability work on locks? They are red tokens, after all. If so, that would be dank.
Son of Thanos Question
I thought about that a while ago - but ships other than Redline are unable to maintain 2 locks on the same object, and since Thanisson cannot be on the same squad as Redline, the answer is no. Unless Redline locks a friendly ship, and Petty Officer makes him get a second one. Weird.
Edited by matt.sucharskiI was thinking that if ship 1 gets a lock, thanos can trigger, netting another lock token, but one belonging to ship 2 or 3. The card doesn't say duplicate the token, but get another one of it. Thus, maybe another ship gets the lock because it's a lock token?
I think that in order to do what you describe, you'd have to be inventing things that are not on the card. If it's not another lock from the same source, which source is it? Who decides? What about ships beyond range 3? It seems to be a case of the developers forgetting that locks are red.
I'm with @matt.sucharski . I think the interpretation to allow any ship of your choice to gain a lock is kind of expansive. There's a slight case for it, but it really needs to stretch things pretty far. I think this is a case where a more modest interpretation is best, unless FFG specifies otherwise.
"Type" isn't specific enough to answer RAW, no, but I think it's fairly clear RAI that it would have to be a copy of the same token--in the case of a TL, the same number.
If I were ever a TO, I would tend to rule things RAW, because RAI is obviously subjective, which would implicate me as subjectively happening to agree with one player over another. Not cool for a TO. Judges should do their best to be objective.
In this case, RAW happens to be more subjective. It leaves gaps that you simply cannot assume in any reasonable manor given the lack of more information. I honestly don't think there's a case to be made here that a decent TO would agree with.
So can Electronic Baffle take off 'n lock then, if it is counted as a red token?
1 hour ago, PsychoCC said:So can Electronic Baffle take off 'n lock then, if it is counted as a red token?
Yes.
On 1/20/2019 at 11:33 AM, SpiderMana said:"Type" isn't specific enough to answer RAW, no, but I think it's fairly clear RAI that it would have to be a copy of the same token--in the case of a TL, the same number.
This is the interpretation that i've landed on, that "a token of the same type" would go to mean "target lock 1" or A or whatever denominations your lock uses. There isn't much to base that on, but its the least abusive and least silly way to rule it.