Some dragon rules questions

By wernerkellens, in Battlelore

1. Can a dragon fly and battle afterwards?

2. When playing a card where units get an extra movement, may a dragon fly one extra hex and also an extra breath attack (4 instead of 3)?

Thanks

wernerkellens said:

1. Can a dragon fly and battle afterwards?

I think I get what you are asking here, but just to be clear: Anytime a Dragon is moving or retreating it may fly. However, if one chooses to use the Breath Attack that allows for a movement of 4 hexes, the dragon may not battle after completing that action. Also, a small (and perhaps unnecessary :) ) point, anytime the Dragon does the four hex movement, it must pay the lore cost of doing the breath attack, even if no units are targeted by the breath attack.

wernerkellens said:

2. When playing a card where units get an extra movement, may a dragon fly one extra hex and also an extra breath attack (4 instead of 3)?

I am not 100% on this one, but I believe that you would be able to use the lore cards that affect movement to increase the number of hexes that a Dragon takes during its breath attack (good lord, Stealth at level 3 with a Fire Dragon could have some incredible value, what ;) ), as those cards either take place and/or have affect during the movement phase, which is when the Breath Attack is occurring (I think - the exact timing of the Breath Attack is of what I am a little unsure).

I am quite sure about the affect of die modifying Lore and Command Cards on the Breath Attack, save for one instance. Currently none of the cards will impact the Breath Attack as it is not considered a Ranged nor Melee battle. The only card that may be an exception is Assault. I do not believe a ruling has been made on whether or not it will affect Breath Attacks. Anyone know about that? (Well, now that I think about it, Leadership, BattleLore, Strength, and Cry Havoc would have the same issue. I'll try to find the thread that addressed this, as I am sure that none of the cards affect Breath Attack dice values, but perhaps the logic given wasn't lock solid ;) )

EDIT: found the thread here , and yeah, the logic isn't convincing to me, but the source is ;) , and pretty clear that the intent is that the Breath Attack dice values are not modified by Lore nor Command Cards. Would be nice to have this answered in a FAQ/etc, though.

Thanks a lot!