Rare that I have a true "how did I miss that?" question, but a recent incident in the VWC indicates that I may have misunderstood how Redirect tokens work. One of my opponents noted that according to the rule book, players have to choose the destination for any redirected damage before damage is assigned or critical effects are triggered. Does this mean that a player can choose to redirect to a specific hull zone in advance, but if the intended shields are destroyed by something like the Projectors Misaligned critical effect the damage cannot redirect to another adjacent hull zone?
I certainly understand and agree that if you have no adjacent shields you cannot redirect damage, but do I and my opponents need to explicitly declare the hull zone ahead of taking damage for tournament play?
title clarification