Planetary Ion Cannon: 1 ship, yes, but multiple tokens?

By Rocmistro, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

So the explanatory FAQ test for Planetary Ion Cannon (defensive objective) states that only 1 ship can be attacked per round from a PIC.

What if 1 ship landed within range of 2 tokens, however? Would that ship take 2 Planetary Ion Cannon shots? The language on the card seems ambiguous:

"....may choose 1 enemy ship at distance 1-3 of an objective token and remove that token from the play area to perform an attack against that ship"

It seems to me that only 1 ship can be attacked, and only 1 token can be removed in a given round.

Only one token may be used per round.

I believe the reason is that a specified point in the command phase is given, (“ at the end of the command phase”) and only one token is mentioned (“ an objective token.”) Thus it happens once after the command phase and only one token is affected.

As opposed to Minefields, which triggers mines when a ship ends its maneuver in range.

Edited by The Jabbawookie

It is a little ambiguous, but essentially...

You get to the trigger point. You pick your One Ship. You resolve the Ion cannon effect with one token... and then you stop , as you're no longer at the designated trigger point, so you don't go back and re-pick that same ship again.

Thanks guys. I played against someone in the last round of Derry, NH regional, and I interpreted it the same as you. This had the affect of NOT blowing up my MC30 torpedo (it took one shot but could NOT have taken 2). I then tabled him, so I felt bad afterwards if I had been wrong about it.

Edited by Rocmistro

The framework of discussion was basically framed around the Planetary Ion Base Assault Objective for CC - those are worse for it because you *don't* remove the Token after firing it off, so its very easy to strategic 3 to a single target very quickly and want to fire 12 Blues at it...

But it was denied fairly quickly (via Email response)