7 hours ago, KrisWall said:1. Per the rules, "When resolving a card ability, resolve as much of the ability as can be resolved, and ignore the rest."
So, your opponent plays Fogbank. He resolves the card fully. You're now not able to use creatures to fight on your turn. You play Anger. You'd ready the character, but then ignore the part about fighting as that part can't be resolved due to the restriction in place from Fogbank. "Can't" abilities usually win because they make "Do X" abilities unable to resolve, which causes them to be ignored.
2. If a card gives you a choice, you make the choice and then resolve as much of the ability as possible, ignoring the part that can't be resolved. If you play Knowledge is Power, you first resolve making the choice. "I choose to archive a card." You'd then resolve the choice. "I attempt to archive a card, but am unable to do so, so I will ignore this part of the card's ability."
Same rule in both cases, really.
Except it's not in the rulebook. And because it's not in the rulebook, you are inferring an effect based on what usually happens in games like this. Where did this expectation come from? The Magic Comprehensive Rules, which explicitly says, in its section called "The Golden Rules of Magic" that "can't" beats "can". Adding that to the rulebook, right under the rule about card effects that contradict the rules win, would be a big help.
Speaking of the other Golden Rule mentioned above, the cards break the rules, except when they don't. Situations where they don't include:
- The Phase Shift situation on the first player's first turn. The latest version of the Rulebook reads, "First Turn Rule: During the first player’s first turn of the game, that player cannot play or discard more than one card from their hand. Card effects cannot modify this rule." But the First Turn Rule is a rule, so why does this rule beat a card effect? See above.
- The Biomatrix Backup ruling is based specifically on the rule beating the card. The rules say that the active player makes all choices; the card says that I, as the controller of the Upgrade, make the choice regardless of whether I am the active player. While I understand the intention of having the rule win in this case (namely, having the non-active player making choices is too much like Magic and can lead to response/counterresponse issues over time as new cards are released), if they are going to make that an immutable rule, it (and every other immutable rule) needs to be called out as such.
There are also cases where an implied equivalency creates potentially weird rulings, such as...
- The Restringuntus vs. Pitlord/Control the Weak situation is based on an implied equivalency as well as the inferred "can't beat can" Golden Rule. Pitlord and Control the Weak say a player "must" choose a particular house, while Restringuntus says that player "can't" choose a specific house. But if I "must" choose X, why doesn't Restringuntus's ability simply absolve me of my obligation and let me choose something else? Because "must choose X" is interpreted to be equivalent to "can't choose Y, where Y is any house that is not X." Thus, all seven houses can't be chosen, and when combined with the implied "can't beats can," you choose no house.
Exactly what does the "Do as much as you can" rule mean? If The Crucible Online is to be believed, it's inconsistently applied:
- Can you stun a creature that's already stunned? Maybe. Bigtwig is happy to do so, because it can exhaust the creature as well, and Tremor can do so if there's a neighbor who is unstunned, but Smaaash seems to think that already stunned creatures are ineligible for his Play: ability. The issue seems to boil down to whether you can make a choice that makes no obvious game effect if a choice that does produce a game effect exists. By one interpretation, that would violate the rule, but if the rule only applies to an otherwise legal choice after it is made, then an effect can be quashed in that manner.
There are cases where the same (or clearly equivalent in context) text produces different rulings, such as...
- Nexus has " Reap : Use an opponent's artifact as if it were yours." This can't use an opponent's artifact that has no Action: or Omni: ability attached to it. (Why would you want to? Maybe your opponent has no creatures out and multiple artifacts, but the only one with a relevant ability is something like Cannon.) Poltergeist is a Action card that reads, "Use an artifact controlled by any player as if it were yours. Destroy that artifact." That can affect an artifact with only constant abilities. What makes one more flexible than the other when applied to an opponent's artifact?
In light of issues such as these, it's better IMO to get a handle on such issues now, while the cards are few and the resulting Keyforge Comprehensive Rulebook will be small. Waiting until 5-6 years of cards are out (and such a resource becomes absolutely necessary instead of incredibly helpful for marshals and judges) will create problems leading up to the task, and a much bigger and messier project when it actually happens.