Gypsy-spell ability

By air show, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hi guys, yesterday i've played one of my best game with a charachter I've never played: the gypsy.

well, after Warlock, the best ch. in the game IMO!

every time another player discard a spell you can take it, if your craft allows you to do so...in a game with Warlock and another spell-user ch. is a great ability!!

but I've got a question: if a ch. dies, and he must discard his spell(s), can the gypsy take the spells? or only the last one?

for example, the sage dies, so he must discard 2 spells in his hand. he discards random and brainwave (in this order). The gypsy has craft 7 and only one spell, so could she take both spells, only brainwave or nothing?

and again, must the gypsy obtain the spell as soon as the spell is used/discarded or can choose to wait and obtain it after a while?

It should be that EACH time a spell is discarded, (even multiple spells) the gypsy has the option to pick up each spell as it hits the discard.

That way you could not bury a spell you don't want her to have.

If I have to discard all my spells, say I had Todify, Touch of death and an immobility, and I didn't want her to get the touch of death, I could not stack all three with TOD on the bottom and say she could not pick it up. I think there is the option for her to pick up any of those.

She has to have the option to pick up any spell as it hits the discard.

It should not be a race.

The way it is stated... The gypsy can choose which spell she want.

If she do not want to pick that spell, then she can just ignore it, and choose the other one.

_____________________________

Whenever another character places a spell on the discard pile, you may take it and add it to your own spells, if your craft allows

_____________________________

thanks for answers, but I've another question about gypsy (and the last, I think): does gypsy have time restriction about taking the spell?

ex: 5 players, gypsy is the third. the first cast "brainwave" ( I love that spell) but gypsy does not take it. the game continues for 15 minutes WITHOUT ANY SPELL CAST, so on top spell's discard deck there is "brainwave" still.

can gypsy obtain the spell now? or must she take the spell as soon as another player discard it? I think it works that way (or you take it immediately, or you don't take it at all) but it's not so clear...what do you think about it?

air show said:

thanks for answers, but I've another question about gypsy (and the last, I think): does gypsy have time restriction about taking the spell?

ex: 5 players, gypsy is the third. the first cast "brainwave" ( I love that spell) but gypsy does not take it. the game continues for 15 minutes WITHOUT ANY SPELL CAST, so on top spell's discard deck there is "brainwave" still.

can gypsy obtain the spell now? or must she take the spell as soon as another player discard it? I think it works that way (or you take it immediately, or you don't take it at all) but it's not so clear...what do you think about it?

I think the Gypsy should take the Spell as soon as it is put on the discard pile. Timing is "Whenever another character places a spell on the discard pile", not "you may always take the last discarded Spell from the discard pile". This is to give some more restriction to a sometimes very powerful ability.

The_Warlock said:

air show said:

thanks for answers, but I've another question about gypsy (and the last, I think): does gypsy have time restriction about taking the spell?

ex: 5 players, gypsy is the third. the first cast "brainwave" ( I love that spell) but gypsy does not take it. the game continues for 15 minutes WITHOUT ANY SPELL CAST, so on top spell's discard deck there is "brainwave" still.

can gypsy obtain the spell now? or must she take the spell as soon as another player discard it? I think it works that way (or you take it immediately, or you don't take it at all) but it's not so clear...what do you think about it?

I think the Gypsy should take the Spell as soon as it is put on the discard pile. Timing is "Whenever another character places a spell on the discard pile", not "you may always take the last discarded Spell from the discard pile". This is to give some more restriction to a sometimes very powerful ability.

cool.gif