Poe and Daredevil.

By Rich P, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Poe equipped with Daredevil. What happens when Poe uses boost as his second action??

*Daredevil* [3]
While you perform a white :Boost: action, you may treat it as red to use the [1 :turnleft:] or [1 :turnright:] template instead.

Poe Dameron
After you perform an action, you may spend 1 :Charge: to perform a white action, treating it as red.

poe cannot daredevil boost with his ability, since poes ability makes the action red and daredevil specifies the boost needs to be white in order to let you make it red and use the hard one template.

there is another thread in this forum discussing this in dept.

Finally I found an answer in FAQ. It's possible for Poe with DD. He will ends with one stress token.

Q: If one effect says to "treat an action as purple" and another says to "treat an action as red," what happens?

A: Actions have three difficulties, from least to most restrictive: white, red, and purple.

If two or more effects would alter the color of an action from its default color, the action is treated as the most restrictive of those colors. So, if an action is "treated as red" and "treated as purple" at the same time, it is treated as purple, as this is the most restrictive.

Daredevil can only be used to alter a white boost action. Boosting with Poe's ability is a red action.

As Poe instructs to "treat the action as red", at the time of being performed it is - unsurprisingly - treated as red. As so, it is not triggering the "while you perform white action" abilities.

@Justynasd the FAQ you quote addresses two effects applying at once scenario. But due to reasons abovementioned, I don't think both effects in question can apply simultaneously.

On 7/24/2019 at 1:45 AM, Justynasd said:

Finally   I found an answer in FAQ. It's possible for Poe with DD. He will ends with one stress token.

Q: If one effect says to "treat an action as purple" and another says to "treat an action as red," what happens?

A: Actions have three difficulties, from least to most restrictive: white, red, and purple.

If two or more effects would alter the color of an action from its default color, the action is treated as the most restrictive of those colors. So, if an action is "treated as red" and "treated as purple" at the same time, it is treated as purple, as this is the most restrictive.  

The problem with Poe+DD is not "what does red plus red equal?" The problem is that both Poe and DD require you to do a white action treating it as red, but because of the Ability Queue (RR1.0.4 p3) Poe will turn the boost red when you select it as his second action which means it cannot be used by Daredevil.

Card images for reference:

14c504c0815213a66010c4013d9296ee.png

Card_Upgrade_2.png

Actually, the issues isn't even the ability queue. Poe triggers Before Daredevil, Before he even decides which action to perform. So, if this game was entirely digital, and cards and parts all changed based on their current state, this would happen...

Flip Poe's charge, activating his ability.

All of the actions in his action bar (and Action: headers) turn Red.

Poe selects Red Boost

Poe is now performing a red boost (thus, Daredevil cannot trigger, but would normally be triggered here if it was white).

Its the same reason Daredeveil cannot trigger with Refined Gyrostabilizers on the RZ-2 A-wings.