Say that I have Lieutenant Tavson equipped with Electronic Baffle, and he's stressed. At the end of the turn, I decide to use the Baffle to remove the stress and take a damage. If I then use his ability to perform an action like Focus, do I get to carry that focus token over into the next round? Here's my rationale for doing so...
- Per the rulings for the end phase, first ships remove their green and orange tokens, then recover charge tokens (standard and force) as is relevant. Both of these are game effects.
- The Ability Queue states that game effects always take place before ship/upgrade effects.
Following those two rules, AFTER I've removed my green/orange tokens for the round, and recovered one of my ship charges (among any others I may have), I can baffle, remove a stress (or an ion, or lock!), then after receiving the damage, spend the charge I just recovered to (for example) perform a Focus or Reinforce action. Since the step requiring ships to remove round tokens has already passed, I hold the token until the subsequent end phase (unless spent earlier). The same could be true for assigning a Jam token to an enemy ship, or coordinating a similar action to another friendly ship.
Does this seem kosher to you folks?
minor clarification