Pitlord and Control the Weak

By Gaukli, in KeyForge

I am a little bit confused how to handle the interaction between pitlord and control the weak. Pitlord forces me to choose Dis as my active house. What happens when my opponent plays control the weak and forces me to play another house (i.e. Shadows) as my active house? I thought the situation is similar to the Pitlord-Restringuntus one (I cannot choose a house). However, somebody explained to me that I can choose between Dis and Shadows (or whatever house my opponent did choose). The explanation goes like this:

I have to choose Dis (because of the Pitlord)

I have to choose Shadwos (because of Control the Weak)

As the active player I decide which of two contradicting "musts" I adhere to.

How are you playing this? Is there anything (semi)official on this?

Quote

While Pitlord is in play you must choose Dis as your active house.

Quote

Play: Choose a house on your opponent’s identity card. Your opponent must choose that house as their active house on their next turn.

Edited by Gaukli

Hi, the answer is in rulebook on page 10:

Quote

If a player is faced with two (or more) “must choose” mandates, the player may choose either of those options.

you can indeed now choose between the two. Which is why any savvy opponent will only play Control the Weak against Pitlord for the aember and always name Dis.

HOUSE CHOICE p10:

If a player is faced with two (or more) “must choose” mandates, the player may choose either of those options.

Excellent - thank you very much!

This is a bit off topic, but apparently the restringus pitlord thing doesn't work. Instead of not being abe to choose a house, it states in page 9 of the complete rulebook in the section "Cannot vs Must" that "if two card effects are simultaneously instructing a player that they "must" or "may" do the same thing, the "cannot" effect takes precedence. Meaning that if you control Pitlord, and your opponent plays Restringus (and doesn't allow you to choose Dis), you can't use Dis, but you are allowed to use your other two houses. Just wanted to clarify.

11 hours ago, Project1734 said:

This is a bit off topic, but apparently the restringus pitlord thing doesn't work. Instead of not being abe to choose a house, it states in page 9 of the complete rulebook in the section "Cannot vs Must" that "if two card effects are simultaneously instructing a player that they "must" or "may" do the same thing, the "cannot" effect takes precedence. Meaning that if you control Pitlord, and your opponent plays Restringus (and doesn't allow you to choose Dis), you can't use Dis, but you are allowed to use your other two houses. Just wanted to clarify.

That is a reversal of the previous ruling and now the rulebook's latest ruling takes precedence.