Failed Afterburners Boost

By matt.sucharski, in X-Wing

If you fail the boost from the Afterburners modification upgrade, do you spend a charge?

Case for yes: you need to spend the charge to attempt to boost.

Case for no: The card says you spend the charge to perform the boost, and if you fail it, you did not perform it.

Thoughts?

The former. You spend the charge before attempting the boost and nothing lets you take it back.

I agree with @thespaceinvader .

I think the words "perform" and "fail" are mechanically independent in the rules, but I could be wrong.

Edited by Bucknife