Destroying spirits with a cross

By rimmer3, in Talisman Rules Questions

When I destroy a spirit with a cross, I can´t take it as a trophy.

But can I claim other rewards? (Object from a Cryptkeeper, taking Black Unicorn as a follower etc.)

Rimmer said:

When I destroy a spirit with a cross, I can´t take it as a trophy.

But can I claim other rewards? (Object from a Cryptkeeper, taking Black Unicorn as a follower etc.)

Always played as no. You need to defeat them, not destroy them (I think those are the wordings on the Enemies and Cross).