If two Stealer of Souls destroy each other do they both get purged?

By Mud Turkey 13, in KeyForge

Stealer of Souls ability is:

"After an enemy creature is destroyed fighting Stealer of Souls, purge that creature and gain 1 Aember."

Basically, the question is would Stealer of Souls' ability still trigger if it gets destroyed or does it being destroyed negate its ability's effect immediately? So if two Stealer of Souls fight would they both be purged or would they just be discarded? If they do get purged would you then also gain the Aember?

I believe that if a creature is destroyed all of its abilities immediately cease(unless it is a Destroyed ability), so I feel like they should each be discarded and no Aember gained. If you can clear me up on this I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you!

That's right, Stealer needs to survive in order to Purge anything; similar to how creatures with Fight need to still be alive to trigger the ability. On page ten of the rulebook: ". If either creature in a fight has a constant ability referencing the end of the fight (example: “after an enemy creature is destroyed fighting this creature…”), the creature must survive the fight to resolve the ability."

Thank you! We had four people playing at a little event, and the two people playing next to me had this come up where a Stealer of Souls died while destroying a creature. They played it where the destroyed creature still got purged even though Stealer of Souls was also destroyed. I thought that was incorrect, but I wanted to make sure. Thanks again!

Edited by Mud Turkey 13