Nexus and exhausting your opponent's artifact...

By Mud Turkey 13, in KeyForge

Hello! I had a question about the Shadows card Nexus. It allows you to use your opponent's artifact as if it were your own.

" Reap: Use an opponent's artifact as if it were yours."

Since I use the artifact it exhausts, but would it unexhaust at the end of my turn or at the end of my opponent's turn? Thanks!

The end of your opponent's turn. It's their artifact after all, you're just using it. ;)

That is what I thought was extra cool about Nexus, that since your ''untap phase'' is at the end of the turn; if you start your turn with exhausted creatures/artifacts they don't get ''untapped'' till the end of the turn. I first ran into a similar situation with Night Maneuvers ''exhaust up to 3 creatures'', than remembered the order of game flow, LOL suffice to type that card is way more fun now 😁

Edited by player3686594

Thanks for the information! We played it properly.

If we would be true to the rules and don't use our common sense, we would only be able to use Shadows Artifacts "Actions" , because if it would be ours, we also only would be able to use an Artifacts "Action" if it was our active house.

Edited by LieroLarryfier
On ‎12‎/‎18‎/‎2018 at 5:05 AM, LieroLarryfier said:

If we would be true to the rules and don't use our common sense, we would only be able to use Shadows Artifacts "Actions" , because if it would be ours, we also only would be able to use an Artifacts "Action" if it was our active house.

That's an interesting angle. I don't believe it to be the intent of the card, but it's a good point. (You can also use cards like Ulyq Megamouth or Commander Remiel to use him with Mars or Sanctum cards.)

***

I dislike seeing Nexus opposite my lineup more than almost any other creature, but he's a blast to play. You get to use an additional artifact, and then your opponent can't use it.

I think Spangler Box is the weirdest, " Action: Purge a creature in play. If you do, your opponent gains control of Spangler Box. If Spangler Box leaves play, return to play all cards purged by Spangler Box." because if your opponent already has control of it. It's supposed to balance it by making it playable by both sides, but if you keep using Nexus, then only your side has it.

Edited by Duciris
spelling

I agree Spangler Box is weird. I have noted though that most players won't use the box once you purge something of theirs unless they are playing Logos, in fact my buddy and I had a conversation about if you could even choose Logos if you didn't have it as a house for your deck.

On 12/18/2018 at 4:05 AM, LieroLarryfier said:

If we would be true to the rules and don't use our common sense, we would only be able to use Shadows Artifacts "Actions" , because if it would be ours, we also only would be able to use an Artifacts "Action" if it was our active house.

There are tons of ways of activating out of house cards built into the game. This is intentional. Some of us like to refer to this as House Cheating. Its a very powerful mechanic that can really drive up the flexibility and synergy of a deck. Some examples:

Domination Bobble

Gauntlet of Command

Anger

Remote Access

Poltergeist

Ganger Chieftain

Nexus

and more...

2 hours ago, player3686594 said:

I agree Spangler Box is weird. I have noted though that most players won't use the box once you purge something of theirs unless they are playing Logos, in fact my buddy and I had a conversation about if you could even choose Logos if you didn't have it as a house for your deck.

Yes, if you don't have logos on your archon card, then you can choose logos when you declare your house. This is stated in the rulebook.

There are exceptions to this rule. If I take control of an artifact with Sneklifter, then I can use that artifact as if it were shadows. This is due to Sneklifter card text overriding the rules on taking control of artifacts. That little difference is one of the reasons that Sneklifter is powerful

If I've called dis and reap with nexus, can I use one of my opponents brobnar artifact?

21 hours ago, KFMixer said:

Yes, if you don't have logos on your archon card, then you can choose logos when you declare your house. This is stated in the rulebook.

There are exceptions to this rule. If I take control of an artifact with Sneklifter, then I can use that artifact as if it were shadows. This is due to Sneklifter card text overriding the rules on taking control of artifacts. That little difference is one of the reasons that Sneklifter is powerful

Cool, I still note that players that don't have Logos as a house typically don't choose Logos just to use the Spangler box.

Yeah I love those types of cards that let you use a card as if it is of any house, ex: Mack the Knife or Remote Access 😄

On December 20, 2018 at 3:11 AM, gadwag said:

If I've called dis and reap with nexus, can I use one of my opponents brobnar artifact?

If your Dis house choice has allowed you to use Nexus, then yes you can use any readied artifact. You don't need to consider the house of the artifact, just use it and exhaust it. Even if you're not using the artifact's effect, you are still making it to where the opponent can't use it.

I agree with the fact that most will not declare logos just to use a Spangler. There's very few situations where an artifact use is worth an entire lost turn.

On 12/19/2018 at 12:56 PM, Krashwire said:

There are tons of ways of activating out of house cards built into the game. This is intentional. Some of us like to refer to this as House Cheating. Its a very powerful mechanic that can really drive up the flexibility and synergy of a deck. Some examples:

Domination Bobble

Gauntlet of Command

Anger

Remote Access

Poltergeist

Ganger Chieftain

Nexus

and more...

image.png.cb2da1c7e285c4a9ef2058045523a8cd.png

I'm not going to put all of the images here, but there is a specific bit of text I think makes things confusing with nexus: "as if it were your own." That text is missing from a chunk of the cards you gave as examples. Just for comparison, here's Nexus:

https://keyforge-compendium.com/cards/305-nexus

(sorry, I hit the upload limit apparently)

On 12/22/2018 at 8:55 AM, KFMixer said:

If your Dis house choice has allowed you to use Nexus, then yes you can use any readied artifact. You don't need to consider the house of the artifact, just use it and exhaust it. Even if you're not using the artifact's effect, you are still making it to where the opponent can't use it.

I think we might want to discuss the text "as if it were your own" compared to situations without it. "As if it were your own," only means its effects would benefit you instead of the owner. Effectively "you are the owner of the artifact this turn." The rub comes in at "as if it were your own," though, because if I had a Brobnar artifact, I could only use it if I called Brobnar.

I would agree with you on how this works (and I want to agree with you), but after the Biomatrix Backup ruling, I'm not sure how FFG would rule it. I can't imagine them ruling it works contrary to how you've described (because then it's much less likely to be useful), but they didn't walk back after BB became less useful soooo...