When an upgrade card says “add 1 die of any color to your attack pool” is that verbatim or does the added die have to match the range? For example, can you add a black die on a long range shot?
Adding a die?
No range is measured at that stage so feel free to add a die of any colour.
14 minutes ago, drail14me said:When an upgrade card says “add 1 die of any color to your attack pool” is that verbatim or does the added die have to match the range? For example, can you add a black die on a long range shot?
You can add a black at any range.
After the initial dice pool has been gathered and rolled, dice color no longer matter (unless otherwise specified, such as ExRacks).
Star Wars Armada: FAQ
(Now with Hotlink to Current Version - expect this link to break at some stage)
Page 6, "Attacks"
Q: When a ship resolves an ability that allows it to add dice to the attack pool, can it add those dice if their color is not normally appropriate for the range of the attack?
A: Yes. The range restriction on dice color applies only when dice are gathered during the “Roll Attack Dice” step of an attack.
... Look at me, Quotin' again!
Thanks for the clarification!! Now, I just need to find more ways to play.