Was this move....legal

By drail14me, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Played my first real game of Armada today and ran the following list against my opponents two Victory Star Destroyers, Boba Fett and 3 Firesprays:

[flagship] Imperial II-class Star Destroyer (120)
- Admiral Motti (24)
- Relentless (3)
- Electronic Counter Measures (7)
- Leading Shots (4)
- Intel Officer (7)
- H9 Turbolasers (8)
- Gunnery Team (7)
= 180 total points

Gladiator I-class Star Destroyer (56)
- Demolisher (10)
- Skilled First Officer (1)
- Assault Proton Torpedoes (5)
- Engine Techs (8)
- Ordnance Experts (4)
= 84 total points

Squadrons (32/100):
1x Howlrunner Tie Fighter Squadron (16)
2x Tie Fighter Squadron (16)

To set up the question, I was First Player. I activated my ISD, he activated one of his VSDs. I then activated my Gladiator which was at medium range and had double arcs on his already activated VSD. I'm wondering if the following were legal moves:

I took an obstructed medium range shot from my front arc at his VSD and got one shield. I then used my NAV Command to up my speed to 3 and moved up getting his VSD at close range of my side arc. I then used Demolisher title to fire a shot at his VSD from my side arc. I rolled two Black Crit results, a hit and a blank. I used Ord Experts to reroll the blank and got a hit. I used Assault Proton Torps to trigger a face up crit card before resolving the hits in the die pool. We then resolved the two hits and two crits giving him three hits and a face up damage. I then used Engine Techs to do a speed-1 maneuver and get around behind him and get out of range of his Firesprays. End of round. Beginning of next round, I activate my Demolisher first and fired close range broadside shots on him. Again, I get a black crit and trigger APT giving him a face up damage before resolving the die pool. When hits were resolved, a faceup damage card was again dealt because of the black crit result. This killed him. I then took my second shot from my front arc at his other VSD knocking down his remaining shields and then moved into close range of his last VSD.

All that seemed to good to be true. What did I do wrong?

You will make it legal!

All seems legit except for the fact that you can only resolve 1 crit effect per attack. So either APT or a normal crit, you don't get the APT crit and a normal crit. APT's use is that you can crit through shields with it.

1 minute ago, Lord Tareq said:

You will make it legal!

All seems legit except for the fact that you can only resolve 1 crit effect per attack. So either APT or a normal crit, you don't get the APT crit and a normal crit. APT's use is that you can crit through shields with it.

Thanks. So, when I roll and get the black crit, I can APT and bypass their shields AND defense tokens? Then, any other crit rolled is just a hit?

So, in general, that's what Demo does - or worse. But one of you seems to have messed up somewhere.

Round 1 Attack 1: 1 red, 1 hit, 1 damage to shields. Fine.

Round 1 Attack 2: 2 hit-crits, 2 hits. Defender declares Defense Tokens (should Redirect, probably should Brace). The APT does a faceup (and you resolve that if needed). Then 6 damage from the normal attack (2 hits, 2 hit-crits); defender should probably Brace down to 3, redirect to take all on the front (or maybe 2 to front, 1 to side). Even if they don't use any Defense Tokens, that would be 2 hits to shields, 4 to hull - all facedown (normally you only get to resolve one crit effect per attack, and you used APTs so no normal crit).

Engine Techs to get behind.

End of round, the VSD should have 3 shields on the far side, 4 shields between the other hull zones, and 7 hull left, with one Crit.

Round 2 Attack 1: best case scenario is 4 hit-crits (or 5 with a Concentrate Fire command). Defender declares Brace and Redirect. APT goes through - dealing a face up through shields. 8 damage goes through; braced to 4, redirect 3 to the far side, 1 to rear shields.

VSD should still have 3 shields and 6 hull. You should need a second Demo attack to finish that off. Plus maybe a ram or two.

That said, Demo does do a lot of damage. On Sunday I had a fresh Defiance (with ECMs+EWS) against a Demo with Engine Techs, Ordnance Experts, Intel Officer. It last-firsted me, and took out the MC80 before I could get a shot off. It happens.

3 minutes ago, drail14me said:

Thanks. So, when I roll and get the black crit, I can APT and bypass their shields AND defense tokens? Then, any other crit rolled is just a hit? 


APT doesn't bypass all Defense Tokens. It is stopped by Scatter, Evade (if it results in there being no black crit icons left) and Contain with Damage Control Officer. But it does get resolved before a Brace or Redirect can be used.

When attacking a ship a crit icon adds one damage to the total (same as a hit), but if you have a crit in the attack pool after the Defender has done their Defense step you get the option of resolving one crit effect.

If it helps think of crits not as a type of damage but as a a bonus effect that you sometimes get to do.

Edited by Grumbleduke
2 minutes ago, drail14me said:

Thanks. So, when I roll and get the black crit, I can APT and bypass their shields AND defense tokens? Then, any other crit rolled is just a hit?

It doesn't bypass (most) defense tokens. The 'contain' defense token that ISD's have has no effect on APT since that only works on normal crits, but that's not relevant in your situation with a VSD.

5 minutes ago, Grumbleduke said:

So, in general, that's what Demo does - or worse. But one of you seems to have messed up somewhere.

Round 1 Attack 1: 1 red, 1 hit, 1 damage to shields. Fine.

Round 1 Attack 2: 2 hit-crits, 2 hits. Defender declares Defense Tokens (should Redirect, probably should Brace). The APT does a faceup (and you resolve that if needed). Then 6 damage from the normal attack (2 hits, 2 hit-crits); defender should probably Brace down to 3, redirect to take all on the front (or maybe 2 to front, 1 to side). Even if they don't use any Defense Tokens, that would be 2 hits to shields, 4 to hull - all facedown (normally you only get to resolve one crit effect per attack, and you used APTs so no normal crit).

Engine Techs to get behind.

End of round, the VSD should have 3 shields on the far side, 4 shields between the other hull zones, and 7 hull left, with one Crit.

Round 2 Attack 1: best case scenario is 4 hit-crits (or 5 with a Concentrate Fire command). Defender declares Brace and Redirect. APT goes through - dealing a face up through shields. 8 damage goes through; braced to 4, redirect 3 to the far side, 1 to rear shields.

VSD should still have 3 shields and 6 hull. You should need a second Demo attack to finish that off. Plus maybe a ram or two.

That said, Demo does do a lot of damage. On Sunday I had a fresh Defiance (with ECMs+EWS) against a Demo with Engine Techs, Ordnance Experts, Intel Officer. It last-firsted me, and took out the MC80 before I could get a shot off. It happens.

I guess I should have included the damage my ISD did when I activated it. It was head on at close range of his VSD when it activated first. It plumbed the VSD with the 4 red and 4 blue dice. I don't remember the exact roll but it was an insane amount of hits. He used his Brace and a Redirect and still lost a bunch of shields.

Aah, that makes more sense, then. I'd assumed the VSD had started out of range of the ISD. Yes, that would make a lot of difference if it no longer had a brace.

5 minutes ago, Grumbleduke said:

Aah, that makes more sense, then. I'd assumed the VSD had started out of range of the ISD. Yes, that would make a lot of difference if it no longer had a brace.

He had exhausted his brace with the ISD. Guess he could have spent and discarded his Brace on one of the Gladiator attacks?