Evasion Sigil Question

By HelixSix, in KeyForge

I posted this question on reddit a couple of hours ago but thought I'd post here as well.

I have a deck with 2 Evasion Sigils. If both copies are in play, does the effect trigger twice when a creature attacks? The deck also contains Firespitter, does the "Before Fight" effect trigger before the "Before a creature fights" text from Evasion Sigil? Since I am the active player, my assumption is that I choose which trigger goes first.

Text for Reference:

Evasion Sigil: Before a creature fights, discard the top card of its controller's deck. If the discarded card is of the active house, exhaust that creature with no effect.

Firespitter: Before Fight: Deal 1 damage to each enemy creature.

Thanks.

With two Sigils you discard the top two cards of the deck and if either one (or both) are of the same house as the creature attacking, the fight doesn’t happen.

Active player indeed chooses as far as I’m aware, so you could deal 1 to each enemy and then check to see if the fight is still on.

That deck sounds so weird, Brobnar (you know, the dudes that love to fight) with two Evasion Sigils?! I love it!

Edited by Palpster

With the wording on Evasion Sigil, I don't believe you would get the "Before Fight" trigger if you fail to successfully attack since it says "exhaust the creature with no effect."

PG 9 - BEFORE: If the word "before" is used in an ability (...), that ability resolves before resolving the game effect of the reap or fight (but after the card exhausts, if exhausting is required to use the card).

I envision it as:

1. Declare your intention to attack with a creature, triggering Evasion Sigil
2a. If it does not match the called house, exhaust the creature and resolve your "Before Fight" ability
2b. If it matches the called house, exhaust the creature with no effect (my emphasis added)

That does seem pretty wild to have two with Brobnar, hopefully it is more AEmber control than fighting.

I guess it all depends on whether “before a creature fights” triggers at the same time as “before Fight” or not.

I’d say they do, but I can see your point as well.

Evasion Sigil will trump firespitter, because if the discarded card is of the active house, then the creature is exhausted without fighting... So, the "before fight" can not happen without evasion sigils going off (in this case, I think both evasion sigils will need to pass before the before fight effect goes off)

I gotta lean towards active player chooses.

Regardless of any abilities in play, when I’m playing if I declare I’m using a creature to fight I exhaust it before I do anything else. At this point you are before the fight and to me both abilities are triggering. End result is your creature is exhausted eiher way. So I think you could choose to get that Firespitting damage off before you check to see if the fight resolves. It’s not like the ability is breaking the game. If fact it is probably one of the subtle strategies of your deck. Any other before fight abilities in the deck?

Edited by TheSpitfired

I would say that the fire spitter's ability triggers. That happens before the fight. It goes off regardless of the outcome of the fight, or if the fight even happens. They are triggered at the same time. In which case the active player gets to determine the order of resolution, as @Palpster said.

BEFORE
If the word “before” is used in an ability (for example, “Before Reap:” or “Before Fight:”), that ability resolves before resolving the game effect of the reap or fight (but after the card exhausts, if exhausting is required to
use the card).

The wording is really wonky on this. Evasion Sigil should have been written as " While Evasion Sigil is in play, every creature gains Before Fight: discard..." which would make it a clear matter of a simultaneous trigger.

Though I will say @KandyKidZero makes a very compelling argument. This definately needs a FAQ. You should try contacting FFG for resolution in this,

Edited by xbeaker

So the jury is still out on Flamespitter, but it sounds like we've agreed that both Evasion Sigils will trigger if they are in play. I have a follow up question: If the first card discarded is of the active house, does the creatures controller still discard a second card?

24 minutes ago, HelixSix said:

So the jury is still out on Flamespitter, but it sounds like we've agreed that both Evasion Sigils will trigger if they are in play. I have a follow up question: If the first card discarded is of the active house, does the creatures controller still discard a second card?

Yes, agreed they both trigger. And yes, you would still discard 2 cards regardless of the outcome of the first card.