Hey,
I'm not sure about that card interaction with destroyed effects.
If the creature you control with this card gets destroyed. Does the desroyed trigger benefit the controller or the origin owner?
Like truebaru - destroyed: gain 5 ember
Hey,
I'm not sure about that card interaction with destroyed effects.
If the creature you control with this card gets destroyed. Does the desroyed trigger benefit the controller or the origin owner?
Like truebaru - destroyed: gain 5 ember
Under control: "If a card that has changed control leaves play for any reason, it moves to its owner’s appropriate out-of-play zone."
We will have to interpret the exact timing of this. I interpret it to happening as essentially the last thing before the card finishes leaving play. Under this assumption, control is not returned until right before the creature enters it's controllers discard pile (and goes to it's owners discard instead). So the destroyed trigger will benefit whoever is controlling it. If you put a collar on a dust imp, and then kill it off, you get 2 aember, and then the collar goes to your discard, and the imp goes to your opponents.
Another reading could put the return of control in the same window as "leaves play" which is the same window as "destroyed" and it would be active player determines the order. I think that's a more confusing outcome.
Edited by saluk6400712 minutes ago, saluk64007 said:Under control: "If a card that has changed control leaves play for any reason, it moves to its owner’s appropriate out-of-play zone."
We will have to interpret the exact timing of this. I interpret it to happening as essentially the last thing before the card finishes leaving play. Under this assumption, control is not returned until right before the creature enters it's controllers discard pile (and goes to it's owners discard instead). So the destroyed trigger will benefit whoever is controlling it. If you put a collar on a dust imp, and then kill it off, you get 2 aember, and then the collar goes to your discard, and the imp goes to your opponents.
Another reading could put the return of control in the same window as "leaves play" which is the same window as "destroyed" and it would be active player determines the order. I think that's a more confusing outcome.
Under Destroyed: "If a card has a “Destroyed:” ability, the effect resolves automatically when the card is destroyed, immediately before it leaves play."
Thank you guys,
Was confused because off cards like dextre where destroyed not interact with the controller - but now its clear thats due the 'under control' ruling and nothing to do with destroyed 🙂