Rocket Boots on a Stunned creature

By xbeaker, in KeyForge

Just a rules musing..

This past weekend I found I had been interpreting the process of un-stunning a creature wrong. I was under the impression that removing stun was its own 'thing'. So you couldn't fight with a creature that was stunned, you had to un-stun it first. But a situation came up where my opponent used a Gauntlet of Command to un-stun a non-Brobnar creature. I argued that it wouldn't work as the Gauntlet specifies "fight" and that to un-stun was a separate "use" of a creature. The Creature could not fight as it was stunned. I was overruled by the TO in that any action taken with a stunned creature un-stuns it.

So does this mean if a creature with Rocket Boots was stunned the owner could call for the creature to reap to un-stun it, then ready and reap again with the boots? The above ruling seems to imply that it could. But does it count as 'reaping' if it just gets un-stunned?

The rocket boots will not work on a stunned creature

Quote

This creature gains "Fight/Reap: If this was the first time this creature was used this turn, ready it."

Quote

STUN, STUN STATUS CARD

When a creature becomes stunned, place a stun status card on it. The next time the creature is used, the only thing that happens is the creature exhausts and the stun card is removed. It does not reap or fight, and any “Reap:,” “Fight:,” or “Action:” abilities on the creature do not resolve.

Edited by Poposhka
27 minutes ago, xbeaker said:

Just a rules musing..

This past weekend I found I had been interpreting the process of un-stunning a creature wrong. I was under the impression that removing stun was its own 'thing'. So you couldn't fight with a creature that was stunned, you had to un-stun it first. But a situation came up where my opponent used a Gauntlet of Command to un-stun a non-Brobnar creature. I argued that it wouldn't work as the Gauntlet specifies "fight" and that to un-stun was a separate "use" of a creature. The Creature could not fight as it was stunned. I was overruled by the TO in that any action taken with a stunned creature un-stuns it.

So does this mean if a creature with Rocket Boots was stunned the owner could call for the creature to reap to un-stun it, then ready and reap again with the boots? The above ruling seems to imply that it could. But does it count as 'reaping' if it just gets un-stunned?

There's no such thing as un-stun, it just loses the stun card when you use it (action, fight, reap). As Babushka pointed out, Rocket Boots' effect only triggers after you reap or fight, which the rule book specifically says do not actually happen while the creature is stunned.

Edited by WonderWAAAGH