Multiple Library Access ? Or globally, when does an Action goes to discard ?

By Katrod, in KeyForge

Hello everyone,

Page 5, the rulebook states that "When an action card is played, the active player resolves the card’s “Play:” ability and, after resolving as much of the ability as possible, places the card in their discard pile."

So here are my question :

Firstly, regarding Inspiration and Witch of the Eye :

Quote

Inspiration (Sanctum) : Play : Ready and use a friendly creature.

Quote

Witch of the Eye (Untamed) : Reap : Return 1 card from your discard pile to hand.

Given the rules, I suppose you cannot take back Inspiration from the discard pile, as it goes to the discard pile when you finished using the Witch effect. So, if I'm right about this, the question is, when you use Library Access, does it go immediately to your discard after giving you its effect, or does it stay until you finish your turn because you have to wait to resolve "as much of the ability as possible" ?

Quote

Library Access (Logos) : Play : For the remainder of the turn, each time you play another card, draw a card.

I ask this mainly for the interaction with Nepenthe Seed that would permit to take back the Library Access and stacking it multiple time (which would sound strange if you can have only one Library Access in a deck).

Thanks in advance for your answer ! I tried using the Rules Submissions Form, but got no answer at the moment.

I submitted a similar rules question a few weeks ago as well. I have yet to hear an answer either.

The main question is "When does an Action card that gives you an ability for the turn count as 'resolved'?"

For most action cards, this is a pretty simple question. Do the thing, when the thing is done, discard the card.

For turn-based abilities, I can see it two ways:
1) You've been granted this ability, so it's resolved and goes to the discard pile.
2) You are still using the ability, so it isn't resolved yet, and shouldn't be discarded until the end of the turn.

I suspect that FFG will rule it the former way, where you would be able to grab Library Access right after playing it, but I kind of like the second interpretation better. The one problem with that second interpretation is that you have action cards like Foggify and Fogbank that affect your opponent's turn. If those are in effect, at what point do they count as "resolved" during your opponent's turn?

For now, I pretty much ask my opponent how they interpret the card's effects (which has been split about 60-40) and go from there.

Edited by blinkingline

I would go with those two scenarios

1. You are still using the inspiration, so cannot target it.

2. The library access is resolved, so you can grab that one. So go nuts!

Library access creates a lingering effect, just like the cards that say “on your opponents next turn” (they are immediately discarded as well, and don’t “stick around” either)

consider cardsthat make you shuffle your discard - if you played LA, then “help from future self” (search and reshuffle d&d) or that card that makes you swap discard and draw (reverse time) you’d expect LA to be in discard, why would your example be different?

ive submitted to FFG to explicitly make a rule about language that references turns (on your/their next turn) (for the remainder of your turn) to create this “lingering effect” in order to clarify that the card can be discarded but it’s effect still remain unlike constant abilities that go away if cards are destroyed.

Of note, there are a small number of creatures that also create lingering effects that make this necessary (IMO): looter goblin, protectrix, horseman of war.

Edited by Poposhka

ACTION CARDS When an action card is played, the active player resolves the card’s “Play:” ability and, after resolving as much of the ability as possible, places the card in their discard pile

So Inspiration goes to the discard AFTER you use your girl, so it's not in the discard yet

Library Access is more up in the air

It's effect technically lasts for the remainder of the turn, so it would make sense that it doesn't go to the discard until after the end of the turn.