Cards that start with ready (e.g: gauntlet of command)

By baxio, in KeyForge

With cards that start with the text 'ready a creature' (e.g: gauntlet of command, brain stem upgrade), does the creature have to be exhausted to play it? For example if I went Mars, and had a brain stem upgrade on a Dis creature, the Dis creature is unlikely to be exhausted, so it's unlikely to trigger otherwise

they do not need to be exhausted to be targetted.

The "Do as much as you can" rule should not be interpreted in such a way that card effects become prerequisites for using the card.

adding to this question: when a card says "ready and fight ..." ( Relentless Assault or Ganger Chieftain ) and there is no enemy creature to fight, can I use the creature to reap instead (if it is from the active house)?

1 hour ago, SailorMeni said:

adding to this question: when a card says "ready and fight ..." ( Relentless Assault or Ganger Chieftain ) and there is no enemy creature to fight, can I use the creature to reap instead (if it is from the active house)?

Yes. A creature can’t fight if there are no enemies. (Paraphrased from the RRG section on fighting under the creature actions options).

Edit: Assuming it’s from the active house of course, non active house creatures would only be readied.

Edited by Derrault

The answer is correct, but let’s be careful about saying why itbis right.

The “do as much as you can” rule would mean that this effect would ready the exhausted creature, but if there are no enemy creatures to fight it can do no more. The effect of the original card is now complete. Since the newly-readied creature is of the active house and it is now ready, it could subsequently be used (fight, reap, or action).

Can I use a Ready and fight with a friendly creature action on another house if the creature of the other house is active?

14 hours ago, Gus77 said:

Can I use a Ready and fight with a friendly creature action on another house if the creature of the other house is active?

If you are playing house Brobnar and you use Gauntlet of Command ( Action: Ready and fight with a friendly creature.), you may target your Martian Chuff Ape to ready and fight. All other things being equal, your Chuff Ape should already be ready, but you may select it and fight with it.

I've compiled a list of the answers for all these questions (and more) and put them on a website. Example: Gauntlet of Command

I hope this can be a useful resource for the community.

Edited by TheRealGadianton

Hi

Good job TheRealGadianton.

I guess Gauntlet would be too powerful to be able to activate a creature of another house on Brobnars turn, have nothing to fight and than simply be able to be used to reap or action instead?

cheers

1 hour ago, player3686594 said:

Hi

Good job TheRealGadianton.

I guess Gauntlet would be too powerful to be able to activate a creature of another house on Brobnars turn, have nothing to fight and than simply be able to be used to reap or action instead?

cheers

I don't think it's a matter of too powerful, more that if they wanted the gauntlet to let you reap with inactive houses, they would say so. Gauntlet would read "ready and use" instead of "ready and fight".

But yeah, that would be pretty powerful indeed.