Krennic Rerolls

By Muelmuel, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

IMG-20181126-WA0018.jpg.cf9cc9e5c50790d22c5910c6db66670b.jpg

So 3 questions regarding his rerolls

If I spent a CF token, does that allow me to reroll 3 reds total? I read from the "also" that this is so. Then, are all 3 rerolls a single occurence or can i first reroll 1 red, then reroll 2 reds including the one I just rerolled?

If I spent a CF dial and token, can I first reroll all reds from spending the dial, then reroll 2/3 reds from spending the token? or vice versa, considering events that occur in the same timing can be resolved in the order determined by the player

My understanding is that this needs to be done in two groups: the CF dial/token commands, and the Krennic actions.

So the following is OK:

  1. Roll dice pool
  2. Add a die(CF dial)
  3. Reroll a die (CF token)
  4. Reroll as many red dice as you want (Krennic)
  5. Reroll 2 red dice (Krennic)

...but something like this would not be allowed because you need to resolve the CF dial and token together and all Krennic rerolls together:

  1. Roll dice pool
  2. Add a die (CF dial)
  3. Reroll as many red dice as you want (Krennic)
  4. Reroll a die (CF token)
  5. Reroll 2 red dice (Krennic)

In the end, you could end up rerolling one red die 3 times.

Edited by jp82729

All i know is I am excited for a Krennic death star laser on an SSD.

Just as a goofy side note, this got me thinking about the most possible rerolls on one die. The max I could come up with is 9:

  1. ISD II at medium range, shooting at an enemy MC30 and playing targeting beacons
  2. CF token [reroll #1]
  3. Vader commander [reroll #2]
  4. Krennic officer [rerolls #3 & 4]
  5. Veteran gunners [reroll #5]
  6. Leading shots [reroll #6]
  7. Targeting beacons [reroll #7]
  8. MC30 spends Lando [reroll #8]
  9. MC30 spends evade token [reroll #9]
Edited by jp82729

Clarifying As @jp82729 said above in his initial response:

All have the same timing window, but are subject to the fact than an effect once started needs to be completely resolved (as we know in the case of DTTs)

The only question is whether the command is a single effect or two effects under the single resolution of the command.

Ubtil being told otherwise, I would err on the side of making it a single effect - just like everything else- which means although you can choose the timing of the reroll and added die amongst themselves, they should be resolved at the same point... but this is not 100% clear, despite being sensible and courteous - I feel that attempting to convince an opponent otherwise shows you are neither of those - sensible or courteous.... But, y’know, I’m not in the best of mindsets these days 🙂

Also to cover the question that was not answered: as long as I understand how that works, Krennic's effect is an addition so you get

+1 die

+1 die reroll

+Full reroll

+2 dice reroll.

To illustrate it:

latest?cb=20150117182001

Vs

latest?cb=20160330184649

That kind of effects doesn't replace the default effect unless said otherwise.

13 hours ago, Drasnighta said:

Clarifying As @jp82729 said above in his initial response:

All have the same timing window, but are subject to the fact than an effect once started needs to be completely resolved (as we know in the case of DTTs)

The only question is whether the command is a single effect or two effects under the single resolution of the command.

Ubtil being told otherwise, I would err on the side of making it a single effect - just like everything else- which means although you can choose the timing of the reroll and added die amongst themselves, they should be resolved at the same point... but this is not 100% clear, despite being sensible and courteous - I feel that attempting to convince an opponent otherwise shows you are neither of those - sensible or courteous.... But, y’know, I’m not in the best of mindsets these days 🙂

so in conclusion, still need to send an email for clarification on dial+token command?

I'm thinking how potent he could be on the Ravager

No, I’m the meantime, we found out that we’re in agreement in rules.

One command means the two parts (an added die and a reroll) are simultaneous with each other, thus you can decide on their order - but they must go together, no other resolutions in between

Krennic is just gonna be awesome.