Vander with R3 or R4?

By KiloFiX9, in X-Wing

I get Vander’s ability to pass a Target Lock to say Wedge with Proton Torpedoes, so that Wedge can Focus instead as his Action.

But some are also suggesting using R3 with Vander. What’s the purpose of that? Just so Vander can Focus next Turn having already acquired a second Target Lock from R3?

Would it be better to use an R4 as it’s not as likely that you’d get to make two Torpedo attacks in a single pass and it’s more likely that you’d need easier Manuevers to come back around?

Thanks for the guidance. I’m still new at this.

Edited by KiloFiX9

The idea with R3 providing 2 locks allows the recipient of Dutch's ability to choose from 2 targets, as Dutch's ability grants a lock on a target he already has locked.

R4 allows Dutch to move more freely and better facilitates him having an action to trigger his ability every turn.

You need to weigh up which best suits your needs.

Ah right, it allows the second to lock onto a different target. That makes sense, thanks.

Furthermore, and I think the best reason, if the other ship kills the ship that Dutch had locked, Dutch can switch targets (like the proton torps he should have) unto the second ship.

I could be wrong here but I believe that even with R3, you still pass the target lock from your first target?

Then R3 triggers?

EDIT: I like R4 myself. Opens up the dial for Barrel Rolls and Reloads.

Edited by SCSkunk
Content
8 hours ago, BVRCH said:

The idea with R3 providing 2 locks allows the recipient of Dutch's ability to choose from 2 targets, as Dutch's ability grants a lock on a target he already has locked.

Actually, I don't believe it does.

Both Dutch's ability and R3 have the same timing, and Dutch's ability specifically says "after you perform a lock action.. " a friendly ship may acquire a lock on the ship you locked. R3 just says after you perform a lock action , you may acquire a lock. Not perform another lock action.

The recipient of Dutch's ability can only lock onto the ship Dutch locked with his specific target lock action, and then R3 triggers on Dutch at the same time and he can acquire a second lock.

R3's use on Dutch as that he's not limited to one target, useful given his relatively low Initiative and the potential for locking before they move. It also gives him a second ship to shoot at if the friendly ship destroys the first one.

I believe Dutch can only share the first lock. Here is Dutch's ability:

"After you perform the lock action, you may choose 1 friendly ship at range 1-3. That ship may acquire a lock on the object you locked , ignoring range restrictions." <bold added by me>

So the "after" that R3 talks about is after the lock from the action, not after the lock that is acquired from the "after the action" lock. The key difference is the action itself and acquiring a lock--nothing talks about after acquiring a lock, only after the action. The 2nd lock from R3 is not an action, so the part that I bolded above only applies to the first lock from the action.

I'm certainly no rules expert, but that is how I read it.

R3 is an interesting droid all around... He seems intrinsically useful, but when you think about it he loses a lot of that perceived value. Plus we lost quite a few upgrades that stacked well with 1e weapons engineer, or they're astromechs that you can't stack on the same ship as R3, or they went over to Resistance-only, or some combination of those effects.

I have found he's useful on Shara Bey, since she's not trying to line up a shot with ordnance as often. Having two targets locked means you keep your options open for your pilot ability, and it's not as telegraph-y as only having one lock. I know some people like the idea of putting him on E-Wings as well, so that if their primary target arc-dodges them they have another option, or again just not telegraphing who their primary target is.

Either way, it sounds like R3 should still allow Vander to fire at his second lock while another fires at Vander’s first lock (ie two different targets).

I wonder what the probability is for 4 dice Proton Torps with Focus vs a generic Tie or vs a Defender, both the latter with Focus or Evade. It would help with the decision on whether R3 to allow a second target is worth it. Over firing x2 Torps at the same target.

Edited by KiloFiX9

I haven’t actually played Dutch yet, but when I start theorycrafting lists with him, I end up with R4. R3 sounds good, but if you’re using both of the locks over two turns you’re only activating his ability every other turn.

That said, people here have made a good argument for the flexibility R3 provides in real game scenarios.

For maximum action efficiency, in a perfect world where you spend all your target locks every turn and you only take a lock action if you don’t have a target lock, R3 actually reduces efficiency.

R3 provides you flexibility for your target lock action, but R4 offers flexibility to make better use of your red actions. I think R4 is the better choice personally.

I tried R3 with a dorsal turret and veteran turret gunner. The goal was to shoot the primary with one lock then the turret with the other, having both 2-dice attacks modified. We don’t always achieve our goals.

16 hours ago, GuacCousteau said:

Actually, I don't believe it does.

15 hours ago, thomedwards said:

I believe Dutch can only share the first lock. Here is Dutch's ability:

I think you guys are looking too hard at this one.

R3 and Dutch's ability happen at the same time. The player can choose in which order they apply. You can perform a lock action, and then have R3 give you a second lock. His ability says "...may acquire a lock on the object you locked." You've locked 2 targets regardless of whether the second lock was considered a part of the action. There is no reason to think the second lock doesn't apply to his ability with the rules and clarifications we have currently.