Looking through the cards for the term “destroyed” i finally think I get why FFG made the ruling.
Firstly, “Active player makes all choices” - this is the supreme rule they follow.
when a the active player destroys an opponents creature, the opponent will resolve the “destroyed” effect, but IS NOT ALLOWED TO MAKE CHOICES.
if I control Grenade Snib (destroyed: Your opponent loses 2Æ), and my opponent destroys him on his turn, I get to resolve “destroyed” but there are no choices so (your opponent) MY OPPONENT loses 2æ
Biomatrix Backup says: “destroyed: you may put this creature in it’s owner’s archives”
So if I control a creature with Biomatrix Backup, and my opponent on their turn destroys it, I get to resolve the “destroyed” effect, but I’m NOT allowed to make the choice whether I archive it or not. I basically have to ask my opponent which way I resolve it, but I AM still resolving it, and “you may” in that case could be read as
“you may, if the active player allows”
Had grenade snib said (destroyed: your opponent may lose 2æ) and my opponent destroys him on their turn, I would resolve destroyed, but my opponent as the active player gets to choose whether or not he would lose 2æ.
Had I destroyed grenade snib on my turn, I get to resolve destroyed as always, but since I’m the active player, I also get to make the choice whether my opponent loses 2æ
Weird, but it makes sense.
Edited by Poposhka