Rules Question: Definition of you/your

By howlingfang, in KeyForge

Here is the specific situation that came up: I played Spangler Box and used it to purge a creature transferring control of Spangler Box to my opponent. Then I played Oath of Poverty which destroys "each of your artifacts" - we want to know if Spangler Box is "my" artifact when my opponent controls it since I am the owner. Rule book reference please because I couldn't find it.

Here is the text for Control:
"CONTROL
A player owns the cards that begin the game in their deck. When a card enters play, it is under its owner’s control.
A player can take control of an opponent’s card. When this happens, that card is placed in the new controller’s play area. If it is a creature, it is placed on a flank of the new controller’s battleline.
If a player takes control of a card that belongs to a house not in the new controller’s deck, they can make that house the active house during step 2 of their turn.
If a card that has changed control leaves play for any reason, it moves to its owner’s appropriate out-of-play zone."

I’ll look into the rule guide in a bit to see if I can find a direct quotation but typically when a card refences “you” it’s talking about it’s controller and specifically says owner when it means owner.

Ok I couldn’t find any direct quotation for “you” or “your” so for the time being I’m going to operate under the assumption they work like most card games of this kind.

That said “your” suggests possession, thus the controller of the card is who “your” would be referencing as ownership is typically important merely so cards don’t get to mixed up.

I would presume the intent is for control to matter, so Spangler Box in this case would no longer be considered "your" artifact, but I also couldn't find anything in the rules to support this line of thought.

12 hours ago, Palpster said:

I would presume the intent is for control to matter, so Spangler Box in this case would no longer be considered "your" artifact, but I also couldn't find anything in the rules to support this line of thought.

ENEMY (p10):
If a card ability refers to an “enemy” game element, it refers to an element currently controlled by the opponent.

I think that is the opposite of you/your. Read this in conjunction with the "SUGGESTED PLAY AREA (MID-GAME)" diagram on page 4 and you will see you/your play area.

If your opponent controls it, it would not be destroyed. It’s not “your” artifact.

From all that I’ve read, you and your, yours, you’re refers to the controller at all times unless specifically calls out owner, opponent, etc. by noun.

Go through the card database and search for “you” and try to apply “owner” instead of controller and you will see some weird, gamebreaking, stuff occuring when control changes.

The wording on OpP is pretty straightforward and is not a corner case in the “you” realm

Edited by Poposhka
46 minutes ago, Poposhka said:

If your opponent controls it, it would not be destroyed. It’s not “your” artifact.

From all that I’ve read, you and your, yours, you’re refers to the controller at all times unless specifically calls out owner, opponent, etc. by noun.

Go through the card database and search for “you” and try to apply “owner” instead of controller and you will see some weird, gamebreaking, stuff occuring when control changes.

The wording on OpP is pretty straightforward and is not a corner case in the “you” realm

I think we're all in agreement this should be the case, it's just that it isn't in the rules except by deduction/extrapolation as far as we can tell.

Sure but we have to argue with fair intent and not Try to needlessly complicate the rules to twist them on their head. There is, afaik, nothing contradictory with saying “you” refers to controller only. But many strange and complex corner cases by applying it to owner.

And this all falls apart due to Biomatrix Backup. (Sorry, I know that isn't helpful. 😳 )

3 minutes ago, dperello said:

And this all falls apart due to Biomatrix Backup. (Sorry, I know that isn't helpful. 😳 )

To be honest, I don’t think so, read my post on it in this forum.

Edit: sorry I just saw you replied there no intent to be rude by me.

Edited by Poposhka

Bottom line is I don't really care what the answer is one way or another but I think that until there is an official ruling it is sufficiently ambiguous that one could make a case either way and there is not much that could be done.

In other words could we please get an OFFICIAL RULING.

Have you sent in the question? They're not gonna know it needs an official ruling until you ask them for one.

https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/contact/rules/

Edited by Palpster
added link