Fight Definition

By Scottbohlmann, in KeyForge

Hey all

So my girlfriend and I played our first game last night. We had a disagreement about the term “fight”.

So, if a creature attacks, it is obviously fighting. But is the defending creature also considered to be fighting?

The question came up over Bigtwig. His card states he can only fight stunned creatures. Obviously he can attack stunned creatures, but what happens when other creatures attack him? If he can only fight stunned creatures does he simply deal no damage back to the attacker? Or, if the term “fight” only applies to the attacker, is he able to defend himself?

It also came up over Skirmish. Does it apply on defense also since it is “fighting” or is it only on attack?

Thanks, hope I was clear there.

Fight is a special word.

when you use a creature you can: reap, action/omni, or fight with it. This is the “fight” refered to by bigtwig.

Skirmish effectively causes the attacking creature with the skirmish keyword to take no return damage from the targeted creature’s power dealt.

Fight is an action taken by the active player. The target of a fight deals it's damage but it is not be used to fight.

Edited by Krashwire
Quote

FIGHT

When a player uses a creature to fight, the player exhausts the creature and chooses an opponent’s creature. Both creatures deal an amount of damage equal to their power value to the opposing creature in the fight, and both are “fighting” for the purposes of card effects. (Rules, p10)

However...

Quote

SKIRMISH

When a creature with the skirmish keyword is used to fight , it takes no damage from the opposing creature when the damage from the fight is dealt. (Rules, p11)

In short, both creatures are fighting . But only the attacking creature is being used to fight, since you can only use creatures on your own turn.

Yeah that’s pretty confusing. Wish that was worded better. But thanks for the replies!