Tentacus clarification

By Kayten9, in KeyForge

Hi there, can you please help me about this one :

1724812561_dis.Tentacus.jpg.99c2e01338da75e2c5d469705fde1d49.jpg if my opponent has no aember, can he uses artifact ? thank you

no

Ran into this bastard while I was playing a deck just lousy with artifacts. It's a real lockdown, especially since there really isn't much artifact removal that I've seen.

ok thank you, he is really strong so x)

Does "Your" refer to active player, owner, or controller?

8 hours ago, Poposhka said:

Does "Your" refer to active player, owner, or controller?

"You" always refers to the controller of the card.

Nothing a little Collar of Subordination won't cure ;)

Edited by dpuck1998
2 hours ago, Saibrock said:

"You" always refers to the controller of the card.

So how does Biomatrix Backup work?

Quote

Biomatrix Backup Mars

Upgrade
Aember: 1

This creature gains, " Destroyed: You may put this creature into its owner's archives."

FFG ruled that if the creature is destroyed by the opponent, "you" is the opponent, not the controller.

25 minutes ago, Poposhka said:

So how does Biomatrix Backup work?

FFG ruled that if the creature is destroyed by the opponent, "you" is the opponent, not the controller.

FFG was actually commenting on the “may” not the “you”.

Quote:

“Since it is your opponents turn and they are the active player they get to make decisions for all cards. In this case Biomatrix backup has the word “may” meaning the effect is optional. Thus if your creature is destroyed with the upgrade on it during your opponents turn, your opponent will decide whether the card is put into your archives or not.

Admittedly the wording is sloppy (which was already admitted to be a typo by Richard) but that’s what the FAQ answer was referring to with that ruling. Ie if your opponent decides they want to trigger it, you, the owner are still the target... I think we can all agree we hope that gets changed as it was never the intended effect.

Edited by TwitchyBait
1 hour ago, Poposhka said:

So how does Biomatrix Backup work?

FFG ruled that if the creature is destroyed by the opponent, "you" is the opponent, not the controller.

1 hour ago, TwitchyBait said:

FFG was actually commenting on the “may” not the “you”.

Quote:

“Since it is your opponents turn and they are the active player they get to make decisions for all cards. In this case Biomatrix backup has the word “may” meaning the effect is optional. Thus if your creature is destroyed with the upgrade on it during your opponents turn, your opponent will decide whether the card is put into your archives or not.

Admittedly the wording is sloppy (which was already admitted to be a typo by Richard) but that’s what the FAQ answer was referring to with that ruling. Ie if your opponent decides they want to trigger it, you, the owner are still the target... I think we can all agree we hope that gets changed as it was never the intended effect.

I think maybe they were referring to both the "you" and the "may" as in the choice is now up to you, the active player, not you, the creature's controller.

So "you" refers to the creature's controller, unless the word "you" is followed by the word "may", then "you" refers to the active player. [sarcasm]Ah, what an elegant solution... [/sarcasm]

I hope they change it too, but reading Facebook there seems to be a lot of people that think it is an excellent fix. People are strange... 😮