44 minutes ago, dpuck1998 said:Let me offer more help, things you can find reading the rules.
“IF YOU DO” AND “IN ORDER TO”
If an ability includes the phrase “if you do” or “in order to,” the player referenced by the ability must successfully and completely resolve the text that precedes that phrase before they can resolve or perform the text that follows that phrase. In other words, if the first part of the ability is not successfully and completely resolved, that which follows the phrase does not resolve or cannot be performed.
Let me offer more help in possibly understanding how language works. Don't be a jerk, we're discussing the specific wording of a card in conjuction with the rules.
If you want to go to the rules, read the part about using cards. Only certain artifacts can be used.
How about this. If a card said,"Fight with a friendly creature. Destroy that creture." what would happen if all your creatures were already exhauseted? Would you still need to destroy a creature even though none fought? According to the precedent put forward by Poltergeist you would. After all DAMAYC says to destroy that creature. Which one? Who knows, but something needs to be destroyed. Crazy town.