Flank Question

By paganeagle2001, in KeyForge

I have been asked by a few people if the first card you play as the first player has a flank option, does the flank option take place?

i would say no, as it has to have something either on the left or right for it to activate.

So... What do others think?

When I understand your question correctly you want to know if a creature is "on a flank" when it is the your only creature on the board.

When I remember correctly, this term is not defined in the rules. From common sense I'd say that for something to be on a flank there has to be a flank which is not the case if there is only one creature.

Edited by Soapy

nope it is defined in the rules

'FLANK The creatures on the far right and far left of a player’s battleline are on the flanks of the line. A creature in this position is referred to as a flank creature. Any time a creature enters play or changes control, the active player chooses which flank of its controller’s battleine it is placed on.'

A single creature is on both flanks. Any text which says 'if a flank creature then...' applies. Equally cards which say 'target a creature not on a flank' also do not apply

Edited by Matrim
7 minutes ago, Matrim said:

nope it is defined in the rules

The part about the single creature is missing in the german glossary. Good to know!

Thanks for the replies..

Happy Keyforging..

Watch the quotes as that was my statement and therefore could be incorrect.

I dont beleive so. Also if you look at this section ' Any time a creature enters play or changes control, the active player chooses which flank of its controller’s battleine it is placed on.'' then if an 'initial' creature was not on a flank then you could never play it.

And again from earlier in the rule book ' Each time a creature enters play, it must be placed on a flank '

Edited by Matrim