Another "Do as much as you can" rule question

By Aelam, in KeyForge

I think the newest Rulebook edition solved the last part of my question already but just wanted to make sure.

In the other FFG thread on "Do what you can" tells us that you should do as much of the card of you can. So that's why we can use Sergeant Zakiel(Play: you may ready and fight with a neighboring creature) or Anger (Play: Ready and Fight with a friendly creature) on an already ready creature.

Does that also mean in the case of Neutron Shark (Play/Fight/Reap: Destroy an enemy creature or artifact and a friendly creature or artifact. Discard the top card of your deck. If that card is not a Logos card, trigger this effect again.) that it doesn't always need to be a one for one destroy trade? Presumably it would get to the point where one player runs out of things to destroy meaning that eventually won't all artifacts and creatures be destro yed so the player will just discard cards until a Logos card is drawn?

Additionally - what if Neutron Shark is destroyed by itself, does the effect keep repeating or does it stop immediately - I think this question was solved in the most recent rulebook where it says effects stop when it's destroyed.

For some more to chew on as well - Bouncing Deathquark has specific wording to ensure the entire effect can be repeated.

52 minutes ago, Aelam said:

I think the newest Rulebook edition solved the last part of my question already but just wanted to make sure.

In the other FFG thread on "Do what you can" tells us that you should do as much of the card of you can. So that's why we can use Sergeant Zakiel(Play: you may ready and fight with a neighboring creature) or Anger (Play: Ready and Fight with a friendly creature) on an already ready creature.

Does that also mean in the case of Neutron Shark (Play/Fight/Reap: Destroy an enemy creature or artifact and a friendly creature or artifact. Discard the top card of your deck. If that card is not a Logos card, trigger this effect again.) that it doesn't always need to be a one for one destroy trade? Presumably it would get to the point where one player runs out of things to destroy meaning that eventually won't all artifacts and creatures be destro yed so the player will just discard cards until a Logos card is drawn?

Additionally - what if Neutron Shark is destroyed by itself, does the effect keep repeating or does it stop immediately - I think this question was solved in the most recent rulebook where it says effects stop when it's destroyed.

For some more to chew on as well - Bouncing Deathquark has specific wording to ensure the entire effect can be repeated.

The word and suggests you must do both to do the other if possible and effectively neutron shark can keep doing it until it kills itself then the effect would end because it couldn’t trigger again once the card left play.

As for bouncing death quark it specifically skirts the “do as much as you can” loophole to avoid killing more of your own things just to kill your opponents by saying “you may repeat this effect again as long as it’s possible to repeat the entire effect.

If you don’t have a creature to kill then you can’t repeat the entire effect so it won’t trigger again.

5 hours ago, TwitchyBait said:

The word and suggests you must do both to do the other if possible and effectively neutron shark can keep doing it until it kills itself then the effect would end because it couldn’t trigger again once the card left play.

As for bouncing death quark it specifically skirts the “do as much as you can” loophole to avoid killing more of your own things just to kill your opponents by saying “you may repeat this effect again as long as it’s possible to repeat the entire effect.

If you don’t have a creature to kill then you can’t repeat the entire effect so it won’t trigger again.

Yes, I think that's all well understood for both cards but the rules question isn't really answered. Like I mentioned the other "Ready and Fight" cards don't need BOTH things to happen. Here's the Neutron Shark scenario:

Player 1 has Creatures A,B,C. Player 2 has Creatures A,B,C,D,E. Player 2 plays Neutron Shark (Creature D)

P2 kills P1 creature A. P2 kills P2 creature A. Draws non-Logos card.

P2 kills P1 B. P2 kills P2 B. Draws non-Logos card.

P2 kils P1 C. P2 kills P2 C. Draws non-Logos card.

At this point does the effect trigger again whereby P2 does not kill anything on P1's side (because there is no target) BUT they still must kill their own creature D?

In that scenario, yes.

But since P2 is the active player, why would they kill their own creature C instead of killing the Neutron Shark to end the repetition? That way, P2's creature C would survive.

3 hours ago, Aelam said:

Yes, I think that's all well understood for both cards but the rules question isn't really answered. Like I mentioned the other "Ready and Fight" cards don't need BOTH things to happen. Here's the Neutron Shark scenario:

Player 1 has Creatures A,B,C. Player 2 has Creatures A,B,C,D,E. Player 2 plays Neutron Shark (Creature D)

P2 kills P1 creature A. P2 kills P2 creature A. Draws non-Logos card.

P2 kills P1 B. P2 kills P2 B. Draws non-Logos card.

P2 kils P1 C. P2 kills P2 C. Draws non-Logos card.

At this point does the effect trigger again whereby P2 does not kill anything on P1's side (because there is no target) BUT they still must kill their own creature D?

Yes they must still kill something on their own side in that scenario, they’d be smart however once they kill the other players last creature to just sacrifice neutron shark.

8 hours ago, A1win said:

In that scenario, yes.

But since P2 is the active player, why would they kill their own creature C instead of killing the Neutron Shark to end the repetition? That way, P2's creature C would survive.

Ha, this is actually the correct answer. I was so caught up in what the rules would say you're 100% correct that this would be the play.

Also, don't forget the rule of 6.

The rule of six doesn't apply here as resolving Neutron Shark's ability is not "using" a card.

39 minutes ago, sabrjay said:

Also, don't forget the rule of 6.

Per the new edition of the rules...

The Rule of 6 does not limit the number of times a triggered effect happens. It only limits the number of times you can play or use a card with the same name on a turn.

It limits stuff like using the FIGHT effect on a card, then readying the card (say with the sergeant ) and using the FIGHT effect again and continuing to reuse the card.

{Sniped ;) }

Edited by jimtullis
On 11/19/2018 at 3:48 AM, TwitchyBait said:

The word and suggests you must do both to do the other if possible and effectively neutron shark can keep doing it until it kills itself then the effect would end because it couldn’t trigger again once the card left play.

As for bouncing death quark it specifically skirts the “do as much as you can” loophole to avoid killing more of your own things just to kill your opponents by saying “you may repeat this effect again as long as it’s possible to repeat the entire effect.

If you don’t have a creature to kill then you can’t repeat the entire effect so it won’t trigger again. 

With Bouncing deathquark can I do the effect the first time without having a creature to kill? Just not repeat it?

On 11/23/2018 at 12:45 PM, ATrueProphecy said:

With Bouncing deathquark can I do the effect the first time without having a creature to kill? Just not repeat it?

If you can do the entire effect the first time you must as it doesn’t say may, if however only you have a creature in play then I suppose you could though I don’t see much of a reason one would ever do so.