Can I bring Kelifi Dragon into play via Sacrificial Alter without 7 Aember?

By Darik, in KeyForge

Kelifi Dragon has a restriction which reads “Kelifi Dragon cannot be played unless you have 7 Aember or more.”

Sacrificial Altar’s gametext reads:

”ACTION: Purge a friendly Human creature from play. If you do, play a creature from your discard pile.”

If I use Sacrificial Altar’s Action, can I ignore Kelifi Dragon’s reatrcition and play it from my discard pile without having 7 Aember?

I would say no. In the rules, under Card Abilities:

Quote

When using a card via a card ability, any other requirements of using the card (such as exhausting to reap, fight, or resolve its “Action:” ability) must be observed, or the card cannot be used.

Agree with Blinking line, that said I’m curious how this would interact with Wild Wormhole ( play: play the top card of your deck). Would the dragon go to the discard pile, go back on top of your deck, go to your hand, etc. If the answer is that it ignores the 7 aember requirement then alter would likely work as well, or maybe not if you have other choices? Good question.

Edited by TwitchyBait
2 hours ago, blinkingline said:

I would say no. In the rules, under Card Abilities:

What do the rules for “using” a card via a card ability have to do with “playing” a card via a card ability?

Still agree with the answer though: no you can’t play Kelifi Dragon, but merely because it says so right there on the card and you have not played anything that let’s you ignore that. (Something like “ play a card ignoring all play restrictions”)

Edited by Palpster

agreed, you cannot play Kelifi because the card states ".....cannot be played unless....." and Sac Altar says ".....play a creature"

21 minutes ago, sabrjay said:

agreed, you cannot play Kelifi because the card states ".....cannot be played unless....." and Sac Altar says ".....play a creature"

Any clue how this would interact with Wild Wormhole then?

2 hours ago, TwitchyBait said:

Any clue how this would interact with Wild Wormhole then?

341_125_H2RWQ5VF7V7_en.png

You play the top card of your deck, so play restrictions/costs must be met.

Yeah, but what happens when they can’t play it? Does it go back on the deck or is it discarded? That’s a legit question and I don’t know the answer.

1 hour ago, Palpster said:

Yeah, but what happens when they can’t play it? Does it go back on the deck or is it discarded? That’s a legit question and I don’t know the answer.

This came up already, but with Wild Wormhole and an Upgrade. If there are no creatures in play to attach it to the card goes back on the top of the deck. I would have guessed it got discarded, but apparently back on the deck it goes.

5 hours ago, dperello said:

This came up already, but with Wild Wormhole and an Upgrade. If there are no creatures in play to attach it to the card goes back on the top of the deck. I would have guessed it got discarded, but apparently back on the deck it goes.

Interesting yeah I figured it wouldn’t get played just didn’t know where it would go. Was that a dev response?

59 minutes ago, TwitchyBait said:

Interesting yeah I figured it wouldn’t get played just didn’t know where it would go. Was that a dev response?

Brad Andres said this wrt library access and ww:

Now if the played card from the Wild Wormhole is a upgrade and there are no creatures in play it can legally attach to, the card is instead returned to the top of the deck and no Æmber bonus is gained from the card (it couldn’t be legally played so it isn’t).

Answer: It would be good, so no you can't.

Looks like they're going to have to add some kind of "reveal the top card of your deck" analogue to future sets, not to mention better targeting rules.