Just making sure I understand the "shedding chains" rule. Anytime I would take my "draw step" I lose a chain? or only if I actually draw at least one during my "draw step"? (the update wording in the rules still makes this unclear to me)
Shedding Chains
How about if I reword it. "You can remove a chain after you draw a card during your draw step. " *maybe some cards will force you to skip your draw step. In that case card text takes precedence
Edited by jrainey41 minutes ago, jrainey said:How about if I reword it. "You can remove a chain after you draw a card during your draw step. " *maybe some cards will force you to skip your draw step. In that case card text takes precedence
That's not exactly right, although the wording is still a little ambiguous in the updated rules. As far as I understood it, you shed a chain if you would draw cards if you didn't have any chains. For example, if you end your turn at 5 cards in hand and 1 chain, you don't draw any cards, but you shed the chain, because you would draw cards if you didn't have the chain.
Basically, you shed a chain whenever the chain actually punishes you in your draw step, and you don't shed a chain if you wouldn't draw any cards in your draw step regardless of your chains.
From the rulebook:
QuoteIf a player has at least one chain when refilling their hand and would draw cards based on the number of remaining cards in their hand, they draw fewer cards according to the chart below. Then, they shed one chain by reducing the number on their chain tracker by one.
Edited by A1win
1 hour ago, Dantastic24 said:Just making sure I understand the "shedding chains" rule. Anytime I would take my "draw step" I lose a chain? or only if I actually draw at least one during my "draw step"? (the update wording in the rules still makes this unclear to me)
Anytime a chain prevents you from drawing a card during your draw step.
If you didn’t draw because you had more than your normal/nonchainmodified hand size, you don’t shed a chain.
CHAIN, CHAINS
Some card abilities cause a player to gain one or more chains. If a player
gains chains, that player increases their chain tracker by the number of
chains gained.
If a player has at least one chain when refilling their hand
and
would
draw cards based on the number of remaining cards in their hand
, they
draw fewer cards according to the chart below.
Then
, they shed one
chain
by reducing the number on their chain tracker by one.
This question is actually answered in the FAQ of the updated rulebook (it's at the bottom after the lore pages):
Quote
I have 2 chains and 7 cards in hand when moving to my draw cards step. Will I shed a chain during this step?
No, you will not shed a chain during this draw cards step. Chains are only shed when a player would draw cards during the draw step and the chains prevent them from doing so (see “Chains” on Page 8). Since you already have 7 cards in your hand, you aren’t going to be drawing any cards, and thus don’t lose any of your chains.
I have 2 chains and 5 cards in hand when moving to my draw cards step. Will I shed a chain during this step?
Yes, you will shed a chain during this step. Chains are only shed when a player would draw cards during the draw step and the chains prevent them from doing so (see “Chains” on Page 8). You only have 5 cards in hand, and normally you would draw a card to refill your hand. However because of the chains you are prevented from drawing that card. Since you would normally have drawn the card and the chain prevented it, you then shed 1 chain.
Edited by A1win
2 hours ago, A1win said:That's not exactly right, although the wording is still a little ambiguous in the updated rules. As far as I understood it, you shed a chain if you would draw cards if you didn't have any chains. For example, if you end your turn at 5 cards in hand and 1 chain, you don't draw any cards, but you shed the chain, because you would draw cards if you didn't have the chain.
Basically, you shed a chain whenever the chain actually punishes you in your draw step, and you don't shed a chain if you wouldn't draw any cards in your draw step regardless of your chains.
From the rulebook:
oh i c thx