Can I play a card that does nothing just for the Ember?

By sharrrp, in KeyForge

Ghostly Hand

Play: If your opponent has exactly 1 Ember, steal it.

The catch is, it also has 2 Ember boost on it. The rules only specify doing as much as you are able when you play a card. If I'm not able to do anything at all but just want the free Ember can I play it or do I have to wait for the right window? Or does getting the free Ember perhaps count as a thing I can do so the card is actually doing something maybe?

I could see it both ways

29 minutes ago, sharrrp said:

Ghostly Hand

Play: If your opponent has exactly 1 Ember, steal it.

The catch is, it also has 2 Ember boost on it. The rules only specify doing as much as you are able when you play a card. If I'm not able to do anything at all but just want the free Ember can I play it or do I have to wait for the right window? Or does getting the free Ember perhaps count as a thing I can do so the card is actually doing something maybe?

I could see it both ways

Yes, as long as the card can legally be played (ie it matches the chosen house for the turn or another card is letting it be played) then it can be played. The “play effect” is a trigger of what occurs when played and that’s where you’d do as much as you could even if that was nothing.

For clarificaiton, you get the bonus Amber first before resolving any of the card text.

The only one exception to this is an upgrade. They must be attached to a creature. It doesn't matter who owns the creature, but the upgrade can't be played if there are no creatures out.