Is the Golden Rule really Golden? Phase Shift as first-turn card

By Keithustus, in KeyForge

Phase Shift (117) is a Logos action that reads: "Play: You may play one non-Logos card this turn."

What happens if you try to play it on the game's first turn?

The general rule is that, " First Turn Rule: During the first player's first turn of the game, that player may only play or discard one card from their hand", rulebook page 5.

However, page 3 of the rulebook says, "THE GOLDEN RULE. If the text of a card directly contradicts the text of the rules, the text of the card takes precedence."

So here we seem to have a classic case of a card giving the player an option to break a regular rule, and the Golden Rule seems to support the player doing that.

Thus, the first player's turn should be:
* forge no key
* announce house Logos
* play Phase Shift
* play a non-Logos card
* ready
* draw probably one card

However, I hear (and see no support for on the rules sticky yet) that apparently someone official thinks the Golden Rule does not apply to Phase Shift being played on the first turn. If so, maybe the Golden Rule should be changed to exclude overriding the first-turn rule? Or the first-turn rule should specify it is immune from the Golden Rule? Without some kind of chengemlike this, we are not playing by a game of written rules but instead by the choices of some officials to change the rules on the fly without notice.

Or, as an escape, are we saying that because Phase Shift says a player "may" play a card and not that they "must" or "are to" play a card that Phase Shift does not therefore "directly" contradict the first-turn rule, so does not warrant application of the Golden Rule?

generally "Only"/"can't" beats "may"...not quite sure how best to describe that.

"your opponent can't fight with creatures next turn" beats anything that would have a creature fight

I don’t get why you expect this to resolve differently here than over at BGG.

First turn you can only play one card from your hand. Playing a card that gives you an option to play an off house card during your turn does nothing to change that. You still have to be able to play another card from your hand to use that abilit to its fullest, and you can’t do that on your first turn. You get the aember and that’s it.

(There are better plays on your first turn)

Posting here is for elevation. BGG isn't where the official rulings appear.

Playing a cad that gives you the option to play an off-house card is a card conflicting with the rules and therefore negating them, just like the rulebook says.

It's a great first turn because this is a competitive card game so deck cycling and deck speed are important parts of strategy.

Many people agree that phase shift does not let you play a second card on turn 1. Playing wild wormhole however would play the top card of your deck I believe as there is no "may".

I think because phase shifts wording is, "you may" it is over ruling the house restriction in the rules, not every rule, as most turns you can play as many cards as you want, of the house you declared. The first turn however restricts you to a single card played through your hand.

RRG was just updated to answer this question.

If you play Phase Shift you would be allowed to play a non-Logos card as long as you are able to play another card that turn and have the card in hand. In this case you can play the Phase Shift but cannot play a non-Logos card because you are not allowed to play another card from hand on the first turn.

Now if you played a Wild Wormhole you would be able to trigger it and play the card off the top of your deck.

The rules are pretty explicit on this one.

First Turn Rule: During the first player’s first
turn of the game, that player cannot play or
discard more than one card from their hand.
Card effects cannot modify this rule.

Just now, Krashwire said:

If you play Phase Shift you would be allowed to play a non-Logos card as long as you are able to play another card that turn and have the card in hand. In this case you can play the Phase Shift but cannot play a non-Logos card because you are not allowed to play another card from hand on the first turn.

Now if you played a Wild Wormhole you would be able to trigger it and play the card off the top of your deck.

The rules are pretty explicit on this one.

First Turn Rule: During the first player’s first
turn of the game, that player cannot play or
discard more than one card from their hand.
Card effects cannot modify this rule.

They're explicit now , but clearly they weren't clear enough before.

4 hours ago, WonderWAAAGH said:

They're explicit now , but clearly they weren't clear enough before.

Exactly. It's nice to see that the devs recognized that the rules logically didn't lead to the result they wanted, so changed them.

<I deleted it. Nevermind>

Edited by TheSpitfired
Deleted