Hello!
When I play the card Switch and Bait, do I resolve its effect once, and only once again if applicable? Or can I continue to resolve the effect more than twice if my opponent still has more amber than I?
Thanks!
Hello!
When I play the card Switch and Bait, do I resolve its effect once, and only once again if applicable? Or can I continue to resolve the effect more than twice if my opponent still has more amber than I?
Thanks!
repeat forever
It's usually helpful for others if you quote the card text in question.
Just now, HaasBioroid said:repeat forever
Or up to 6 times.
Edited by WonderWAAAGH1 minute ago, HaasBioroid said:repeat forever
Thank you!
3 minutes ago, WonderWAAAGH said:It's usually helpful for others if you quote the card text in question.
Or up to 6 times.
nope, forever...you aren't playing the card 6 times, the ability will just keep going off.
3 minutes ago, WonderWAAAGH said:It's usually helpful for others if you quote the card text in question.
Or up to 6 times.
You can only play the same card 6 times. But on a single play of Bait and Switch, you keep going until you can't do it any more.
Play: If your opponent has more [Æ] than you, steal 1[Æ]. Repeat this card's effect if your opponent still has more [Æ] than you.
Step 1) Steal an Æmber
Step 2) Does your opponent still have more Æmber than you? If yes, go to Step 1. If no, stop.
The rule, technically, says play or use up to 6 times. But OP didn't bother to post the card's text, so I didn't bother to look it up.
So I think the confusion comes from the Rule of 6. The way I read it is you can only PLAY or USE a card 6 times in one turn. Notice I set play and use in italics. This is because I believe this is not just the generic uses of those words, but rather they constitute definable terms in the game.
Play - Put a card from your hand into the play area and trigger any events that may have occurred due to putting that card into play.
Use - Activate a card that can be used within the turn. IE - Action, Attack, Reap, or remove a stun status.
For example where I see a combo that would trigger this would be Mugwump. If you had rocket boots on Mugwump, 3 copies of anger and 3 copies of Gauntlet of command, you would not be able to attack 7 or 8 times with Mugwump in one turn, only 6.
Example:
You start your turn with Mugwump in play and upgraded with Rocket Boots. You have 3 Gauntlet of Command in play and 3 copied of Anger in hand.
Declare Brobnar, and then:
1. Attack with Mugwump
2. Ready and attack using the Rocket Boots on Mugwump
3. Play Anger - Ready and attack with Mugwump
4. Use Gauntlet of Command (1) - Ready and attack with Mugwump
5. Use Gauntlet of Command (2) - Ready and attack with Mugwump
6. Use Gauntlet of Command (3) - Ready and attack with Mugwump
At this point you cannot use the last two copies of Anger on Mugwump as he cannot attack again this turn. You can play them on other creatures you might have in play though.
In the case of Bait and Switch the singular instance of play/use is playing the card and then doing the action until the condition is no longer met. Thus each copy of Bait and Switch would be a single instance of the 6 allowed in the turn no matter how many AEmber you steal with that single copy.
I'm pretty sure the rule of six only applies to playing a card, not activating it. In this case apparently you play Switch and Bait (once) and it activates its action, which could move AEmber any number of times.
Just now, Wandalf the Gizzard said:I'm pretty sure the rule of six only applies to playing a card, not activating it. In this case apparently you play Switch and Bait (once) and it activates its action, which could move AEmber any number of times.
yup!
The Rule of Six:
QuoteOccasionally, a situation may emerge in which, through a combination of abilities, the same card may be played or used repeatedly during the same turn. A player cannot play and/or use the same card and/or other copies of that card (by title) more than six times during a given turn.
The problem is that the rule is ambiguous around the word "use". Unfortunately, this game chooses to use "Use" as a technical term, but "use" is such a common word in English that it can't really be avoided when not using it as a technical term.
So, is this "use" in the rule of 6 refer to Using a card in play (exhausting it for effect), or a more generic "I'm using Bait and Switch to steal your aember."
I don't know. I don't think anyone knows.
You can see where the problems with this game started. They wanted to make this the Casual Magic Alternative. Everything about this game is supposed to be casual, casual, casual. The turn sequence is really simple. There aren't any interrupts or cancellations requiring the use of an equivalent to Magic's stack. And they avoid long words when simple ones will do. But this doesn't always work well. A game with this many different moving parts all interacting with each other needs a rigorous backing and careful, unambiguous wording.
I really hope this game can come through it's birthing pains because there's a lot to love here. Ah, who am I kidding, I stuck with HeroClix for more than 20 years and they never got their act together with regards to consistent wording or strong sequencing. I'm clearly here for the long haul. : - )
Rule of six doesn’t apply here. Bait and Switch finishes resolving once when your opponent no longer has more aember than you.
19 minutes ago, Suttkus said:The Rule of Six:
The problem is that the rule is ambiguous around the word "use". Unfortunately, this game chooses to use "Use" as a technical term, but "use" is such a common word in English that it can't really be avoided when not using it as a technical term.
So, is this "use" in the rule of 6 refer to Using a card in play (exhausting it for effect), or a more generic "I'm using Bait and Switch to steal your aember."
I don't know. I don't think anyone knows.You can see where the problems with this game started. They wanted to make this the Casual Magic Alternative. Everything about this game is supposed to be casual, casual, casual. The turn sequence is really simple. There aren't any interrupts or cancellations requiring the use of an equivalent to Magic's stack. And they avoid long words when simple ones will do. But this doesn't always work well. A game with this many different moving parts all interacting with each other needs a rigorous backing and careful, unambiguous wording.
I really hope this game can come through it's birthing pains because there's a lot to love here. Ah, who am I kidding, I stuck with HeroClix for more than 20 years and they never got their act together with regards to consistent wording or strong sequencing. I'm clearly here for the long haul. : - )
This.
The RRG was just updated to resolve this question.